Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  1226869 ECM swap to 88 V6 Manual?

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
1226869 ECM swap to 88 V6 Manual? by Rick 88
Started on: 10-24-2013 06:47 PM
Replies: 5 (231 views)
Last post by: Joseph Upson on 10-27-2013 05:40 AM
Rick 88
Member
Posts: 3914
From: El Paso, TX.
Registered: Aug 2001


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-24-2013 06:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Rick 88Send a Private Message to Rick 88Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Will a 1226869 ECM operate an 88 V6 manual Fiero correctly. I believe it is out of an 85 V6. Would I need to swap the chips?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Rick 88
Member
Posts: 3914
From: El Paso, TX.
Registered: Aug 2001


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-24-2013 10:30 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Rick 88Send a Private Message to Rick 88Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The 85 ECM is for a V6. Are there any other differences fro the 88 ECM?
IP: Logged
Joseph Upson
Member
Posts: 4929
From:
Registered: Jan 2002


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 88
Rate this member

Report this Post10-24-2013 10:32 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Joseph UpsonClick Here to Email Joseph UpsonSend a Private Message to Joseph UpsonEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The only concern I'm aware of would be whether or not the chip matches your transmission; manual vs automatic. The chips are not interchangeable across the ECMs however, so the 85 chip must remain with the 85 ECM and visa versa.
IP: Logged
Raydar
Member
Posts: 38538
From: Carrollton GA. Out in the... country.
Registered: Oct 1999


Feedback score:    (11)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 451
Rate this member

Report this Post10-25-2013 02:07 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RaydarClick Here to Email RaydarSend a Private Message to RaydarEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Right. The 85 ECM needs to have an 85 V6 manual chip.

I ran an 85 ECM in my 88 3.4 car. Ran just fine.
IP: Logged
Rick 88
Member
Posts: 3914
From: El Paso, TX.
Registered: Aug 2001


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-26-2013 08:41 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Rick 88Send a Private Message to Rick 88Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thanks for the info. I swapped the 85 ECM into the car and the idle is much more stable, arount 1000 rpm. However it dies coming to a stop when the engine is cold.
Do I need to recheck the initial timing with the new ECM?

The original ECM started keeping the idle high for an extended period of time. When it finally did idle down the car woud almost die and then the idle woudl kick back up to a higher than normal idle speed. My car is a 3.4 PR. I have heard that a custom chip is necessary but my engine ran well with the stock ECM for about a year.
I have checked for vacuum leaks and not found any. EGR seems to be fine but looks to be an aftermarket unit.
IP: Logged
Joseph Upson
Member
Posts: 4929
From:
Registered: Jan 2002


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 88
Rate this member

Report this Post10-27-2013 05:40 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Joseph UpsonClick Here to Email Joseph UpsonSend a Private Message to Joseph UpsonEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
You may have a problem with the TPS sensor. Some times the contact point in the closed throttle area wears out and causes an erratic signal destabilizing idle considering the motor ran fine before for a year.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock