Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  mechanical gauge

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
mechanical gauge by rcm
Started on: 10-15-2013 03:51 PM
Replies: 9 (251 views)
Last post by: rcm on 10-18-2013 12:31 PM
rcm
Member
Posts: 100
From: lipan tx usa
Registered: Oct 2013


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-15-2013 03:51 PM Click Here to See the Profile for rcmClick Here to Email rcmSend a Private Message to rcmEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Has anyone installed a mechanical temp gauge in a 2.8.Just seeing options out there and possibly where to mount.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8436
From: sarasota
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-15-2013 04:45 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I Installed an oil where the optional gauges on top go, You could put Volts/Temp/Oil all in the gauge pod on top, they sell Aluminum faces for that purpose. And in my other fiero I had built a Custom Dash and put 1 in. ( I don't Trust electronic gauges.)
IP: Logged
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8436
From: sarasota
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-15-2013 04:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Lou6t4gto

8436 posts
Member since May 2008
just be sure to get a mech gauge with a "Long Enough" Cable on it. :-)
IP: Logged
rcm
Member
Posts: 100
From: lipan tx usa
Registered: Oct 2013


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-16-2013 08:08 PM Click Here to See the Profile for rcmClick Here to Email rcmSend a Private Message to rcmEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Can you put in mechanical sender in the same place the original electrical sender is?
IP: Logged
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8436
From: sarasota
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-17-2013 01:35 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
ONLY if the cable is long enough. as I remember, I put it at the corner of the head closest to the back window,( A real PIA to get to with the engine still in the car) and moved that sender to the corner of the other head (Had to extend that wire)
IP: Logged
rcm
Member
Posts: 100
From: lipan tx usa
Registered: Oct 2013


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-17-2013 01:40 PM Click Here to See the Profile for rcmClick Here to Email rcmSend a Private Message to rcmEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
That's what I was afraid of not having enough tube to run that far.I cant get the stock gauge
to go past 120 degrees.
IP: Logged
jaskispyder
Member
Posts: 21510
From: Northern MI
Registered: Jun 2002


Feedback score:    (22)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 205
Rate this member

Report this Post10-18-2013 09:44 AM Click Here to See the Profile for jaskispyderSend a Private Message to jaskispyderEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Did you check the guage, sendor and wiring? What is the resistance value when the vehicle is up to temp?

http://gafiero.org/bbs/index.php?topic=641.0
IP: Logged
mcguiver3
Member
Posts: 742
From: Beacon Falls, CT, USA
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-18-2013 10:30 AM Click Here to See the Profile for mcguiver3Send a Private Message to mcguiver3Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Not a big fan of mechanical gauges in cars. If you have a sudden leak hot fluid could cause all sorts of issues least of them burnt tissue.
For a street car an electrical gauge is sufficient. The other thing to do is install an isolator in the line for a pressure gauge.
In my race car mechanical gauges are verboten!!!
IP: Logged
TONY_C
Member
Posts: 2747
From: North Bellmore, NY 11710
Registered: May 2001


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-18-2013 10:37 AM Click Here to See the Profile for TONY_CSend a Private Message to TONY_CEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
A mechanical temp gauge will not have hot coolant flowing up to the gauge. It uses a sealed capillary tube to change the needle position. The big drawback with a mech temp gauge in a Fiero is finding one with a long enough Bourdon Tube. You can't make it longer or cut it like you can with a mech oil gauge.
IP: Logged
rcm
Member
Posts: 100
From: lipan tx usa
Registered: Oct 2013


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-18-2013 12:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for rcmClick Here to Email rcmSend a Private Message to rcmEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by jaskispyder:

Did you check the guage, sendor and wiring? What is the resistance value when the vehicle is up to temp?

http://gafiero.org/bbs/index.php?topic=641.0


Replaced sender.Ground both wires on sender ,the light comes on and the gauge goes to 260.Turn on key the needle
drops from below 100 to 100 .It doesn't do the peg thing.So not sure if someone already did the wire swap.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock