Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Explain to me how the hydraulic lfters work please.

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Explain to me how the hydraulic lfters work please. by fierofinder
Started on: 09-14-2013 09:13 PM
Replies: 12 (425 views)
Last post by: fierofinder on 09-16-2013 10:34 AM
fierofinder

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-14-2013 09:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofinderSend a Private Message to fierofinderEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have my lower intake off so I'm studying how the lifter and springs work as I hand crank the engine. The lifter moves in two ways. The whole thing moves up and down and the center moves a tiny bit within that. Now when adjusting valves I am assuming it is the center part that you want to adjust half way. This is where I get confused. I adjust the valve just to zero lash no farther and then crank the engine by hand and the center looks as if it bottoms out. It wont go down any farther. So with one and a half turns past zero lash it gets to that point a lot faster. What I'm thinking is it isn't really bottomed out, it just has to much hydraulic pressure to go down any farther. The entire lifter will continue to push up but the center doesn't go down any farther. Would heavier duty springs be my solution to push back on the valve harder.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
fierofinder

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-14-2013 09:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofinderSend a Private Message to fierofinderEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Also this is my spring at full lift with the 1 1/2 turns past zero lash. Almost no room left is this ok?

trotterlg

Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member