Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Tach Problems..

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Tach Problems.. by Myrick813
Started on: 08-27-2013 09:58 PM
Replies: 4 (409 views)
Last post by: Ac Fiero on 08-30-2013 12:56 PM
Myrick813
Member
Posts: 83
From: Tampa, FL, USA
Registered: Aug 2011


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-27-2013 09:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Myrick813Click Here to Email Myrick813Send a Private Message to Myrick813Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
So i have a 86 se v6 auto. Since i got the car as soon as i start the car the tach pegs out and stays there till i shut it off. I figured it was the Tach itself so i swapped in a 120 cluster with a new tach and it dose the same thing. Anyone have a clue what i should check ? BTW what should happen when i unplug the tach filter.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Gall757
Member
Posts: 10659
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 88
Rate this member

Report this Post08-28-2013 08:20 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
When you unplug the tach filter the tach should not work.....but you can jumper the wires and it will operate with no filter.
IP: Logged
Myrick813
Member
Posts: 83
From: Tampa, FL, USA
Registered: Aug 2011


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-28-2013 10:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Myrick813Click Here to Email Myrick813Send a Private Message to Myrick813Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
So i unpluged it and it dies, I jumped it and it peggs back out . Any suggestions?

Thanks Brian
IP: Logged
Myrick813
Member
Posts: 83
From: Tampa, FL, USA
Registered: Aug 2011


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-29-2013 10:53 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Myrick813Click Here to Email Myrick813Send a Private Message to Myrick813Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
bump
IP: Logged
Ac Fiero
Member
Posts: 114
From: Johnstown PA
Registered: Jun 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-30-2013 12:56 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Ac FieroClick Here to Email Ac FieroSend a Private Message to Ac FieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Take the gauge cluster apart and look for breaks or corrosion on the film with the copper strips. Mine had a broken spot that caused my tach to read high

------------------
Anson Craig

IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock