Silly Questions from New Fiero Owner by arstneio
Started on: 08-26-2013 10:32 PM
Replies: 22 (1541 views)
Last post by: masospaghetti on 09-20-2013 11:27 AM
arstneio

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-26-2013 10:32 PM Click Here to See the Profile for arstneioSend a Private Message to arstneioEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hey everyone,

Just wanted to say I got my first Fiero recently. I'm pretty new to mechanics and working on cars, but I figure the best way to learn and get good is to dive right in. I have an 88 GT 5 speed.

The first thing is my brake system doesn't seem to be working very well; the fluid is a rather disgusting black color. I sucked most of it up and replaced it with new fluid, but was unable to bleed the brakes. I tried to bleed them, but I snapped the bleeder screw right off, and I'm not sure how to fix this. Any suggestions? I was told I may need to purchase a new caliper, which sounds expensive.

The second thing is the air conditioning was working wonderfully for about a week when I got it, and the previous owner said that he had the system upgraded from freon to 134. For some reason, the air conditioning unit stopped working though, and I'm not sure why. I'm also not sure how to get started on troubleshooting this--again, I'm pretty new to this sort of thing, though willing to learn.

I figure I'll go through the Haynes manual and try to check and do all the routine maintenance and make sure the car is running in tip top shape. Just thought I'd ask questions as I go along, and these were the first problems I was running into.

Thanks in advance for all your help! I really appreciate that there's such a strong community out there that loves this car, and would love to be part of it!
Will
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Macarchie

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member