Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Cost of a shop engine swap

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Cost of a shop engine swap by Treep78
Started on: 08-25-2013 02:18 PM
Replies: 28 (1052 views)
Last post by: Treep78 on 08-27-2013 05:02 PM
Treep78
Member
Posts: 27
From: Abilene, TX / Harvard, MA | USA
Registered: Feb 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 02:18 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Treep78Click Here to Email Treep78Send a Private Message to Treep78Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
So through a mess of circumstances I might need to push up the timeline on finishing my Fiero from about a year to about two weeks. Has anyone had a shop done engine swap on their Fiero? If so, which engine and how much did it cost. I'm hoping to be able to get the engine and tranny swapped for $4k or less including parts and I know that might be a stretch.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
jb1
Member
Posts: 2140
From: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Registered: May 2003


Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 03:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jb1Click Here to Email jb1Send a Private Message to jb1Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
what swap? that would be big question. for what you are wanting to spend and paying labor I would say only one that would be that inexspensive would be maybe a 3.4

------------------


87 GT
series 1 3800sc (7.597 @88.53 1.579 60ft)
(series II swap in progress)
85GT Northstar/ 4t80e
86GT 3800 n/a
My Build

[This message has been edited by jb1 (edited 08-25-2013).]

IP: Logged
Treep78
Member
Posts: 27
From: Abilene, TX / Harvard, MA | USA
Registered: Feb 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 04:05 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Treep78Click Here to Email Treep78Send a Private Message to Treep78Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Sorry, should have given more details. I currently have it with a nogo Iron Duke and the three speed auto, so both have to go. I'm basically looking for a swap I can actually get a shop to do rather than one where they stare at me and say "but that never went in that car". The biggest problem is that my total budget for the engine, tranny, parts, and labor is $4k. That would be fine if I had time to do it myself, but I don't. I may be able to pay more if I sacrifice other parts of the build, but for now that's where I am. Though I thought swapping a 3.4 in a car that came with a 2.5 was really complicated?
IP: Logged
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14320
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 278
Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 06:48 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
You could buy a pretty good V6 Fiero for $4000 - stock or "done".

------------------
My World of Wheels Winners (Click on links below)

3.4L Supercharged 87 GT and Super Duty 4 Indy #163

[This message has been edited by fierosound (edited 08-25-2013).]

IP: Logged
nosrac
Member
Posts: 3500
From: Euless, TX, US
Registered: Jan 2005


Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 50
Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 06:48 PM Click Here to See the Profile for nosracSend a Private Message to nosracEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Cheaper to buy another Fiero with drive train you want.
IP: Logged
Treep78
Member
Posts: 27
From: Abilene, TX / Harvard, MA | USA
Registered: Feb 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 07:01 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Treep78Click Here to Email Treep78Send a Private Message to Treep78Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
If I could get a better fiero I'd have done so from the start, sadly the selection of cars in my area is terrible, this was the only one available when I bought it and none have gone on sale since then.

Though out of curiosity, does anyone know how easy a V-8 swap would be if I had one of archie's kits? If I could do some sort of swap myself I could do it on a different engine cradle (plenty at the local scrap yard, no v6 or manual parts though ) and see if I can get the duke running in the meantime. I don't have the equipment to fabricate any parts from scratch and to be honest I'm only really a passable mechanic having only don one engine rebuild and swap in the past and that was a completely different car.

[This message has been edited by Treep78 (edited 08-25-2013).]

IP: Logged
EvilSqueezles
Member
Posts: 397
From: Altona, IL
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 09:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for EvilSqueezlesClick Here to Email EvilSqueezlesSend a Private Message to EvilSqueezlesEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Lots of stuff to think of with a v8 swap... even with archies kit and the wonderful instructions he gives. Not to mention if you get a "master" kit you've already spent the majority of your budget before you've even tackled buying the motor and trans. Your budget would build you a nice 3800 swap. You can source all of the needed mounts, wiring, and exhaust through forum members to make it almost plug and play. 2 weeks would he the killer on that though. I agree with the above to be honest... find another one for sale even if you have drive a little ways to pick it up. I ONLY say that because of your timeline. Unless you have the ability to make all the mounts and do your own wiring, I'm afraid short of a duke to duke transplant you're going to have major issues with 2 weeks. Just my .02 though. I do wish ya the best of luck with whatever rout you pursue.

~James

[This message has been edited by EvilSqueezles (edited 08-25-2013).]

IP: Logged
dematrix86gt
Member
Posts: 490
From: havana arkansas
Registered: Jul 2013


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 09:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for dematrix86gtClick Here to Email dematrix86gtSend a Private Message to dematrix86gtEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
are you in Abilene, TX or in MA? if texas get ahold of someone from Bat city fieros. Im sure they can hook you up with a great car for 4G. i drove to Ft. worth to get mine.
IP: Logged
onesexyfiero
Member
Posts: 767
From: VT/NH
Registered: Apr 2008


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 10:06 PM Click Here to See the Profile for onesexyfieroClick Here to Email onesexyfieroSend a Private Message to onesexyfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Any if you're in Mass, I've got an 88 3800 swap car for sale in NH:

http://www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum4/HTML/066814.html
IP: Logged
Treep78
Member
Posts: 27
From: Abilene, TX / Harvard, MA | USA
Registered: Feb 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 10:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Treep78Click Here to Email Treep78Send a Private Message to Treep78Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I'm in Abilene. I'll give that place a look.
IP: Logged
MstangsBware
Member
Posts: 11509
From: TEXAS
Registered: Mar 2002


Feedback score:    (108)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 459
Rate this member

Report this Post08-25-2013 10:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for MstangsBwareClick Here to Email MstangsBwareSend a Private Message to MstangsBwareEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by nosrac:

Cheaper to buy another Fiero with drive train you want.


This...There r several ni e Fieros in the DFW area for that price. Have someone check them out then fly im and drive it back..
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
hiwil88formula
Member
Posts: 617
From: San Antonio, Texas
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (12)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-26-2013 12:05 AM Click Here to See the Profile for hiwil88formulaClick Here to Email hiwil88formulaSend a Private Message to hiwil88formulaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I'm in abilene as well. Lets talk. The shops around here will screw you. I have done a 3.4 swap and can help you out let me know. My number is 210-560-6746
IP: Logged
bmac
Member
Posts: 190
From: Waco,TX,USA
Registered: Nov 2008


Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-26-2013 12:48 AM Click Here to See the Profile for bmacClick Here to Email bmacSend a Private Message to bmacEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
A guy in Waco did my v8 swap for $3400. I don't know if he still has time to do one, but if your interested I could give you his number.


Brian
IP: Logged
theogre
Member
Posts: 29190
From: USA
Registered: Mar 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 549
Rate this member

Report this Post08-26-2013 01:13 AM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yes, get another car.

Two weeks and $4K? You don't even have a shop? good luck... Finding a shop to do the job AND available on short notice is very hard. Most repair shops hate swaps... Swaps eat time, people, garage space, etc.

Just Shipping the parts can take days to weeks.

"Cheap" and fast swap is V6 w/ AT... 2.8 and a few others can work on 2.8 wiring. V6 harness is PnP w/ 85-88 l4 when use TH125c. 4T60 can work if money allows but time likely kills that.

Very cheap and just get car drivable... Fix/Replace L4 engine.
Likely You get better price sell w/ an ok engine.

------------------
Dr. Ian Malcolm: Yeah, but your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, they didn't stop to think if they should.
(Jurassic Park)


The Ogre's Fiero Cave (It's also at the top and bottom of every forum page...)

IP: Logged
CowsPatoot
Member
Posts: 2788
From: nomadic
Registered: May 2007


Feedback score:    (29)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 84
Rate this member

Report this Post08-26-2013 02:56 AM Click Here to See the Profile for CowsPatootClick Here to visit CowsPatoot's HomePageSend a Private Message to CowsPatootEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Treep78:
Though I thought swapping a 3.4 in a car that came with a 2.5 was really complicated?


What year is your car? If you have all the 2.8 parts, it wouldn't be a big deal to do in an 85-88 Fiero...but if you have an 84 then the wiring becomes an issue.
IP: Logged
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14320
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 278
Rate this member

Report this Post08-26-2013 09:32 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Treep78:

...sadly the selection of cars in my area is terrible, this was the only one available when I bought it and none have gone on sale since then.



The guys here have to start getting used to the idea that to get "the car you really want"
you have to be prepared to spend the time to look outside your hometown to get it.

We've often seen posts like "I really want an 88 GT 5-speed, but all that I can find in my hometown is an 84 Duke automatic. If I get the Duke, how much will I spend to convert it to a V6 5-Speed and swap a GT body on it?"

ANSWER - a lot more $$$ and work than buying the car you want from 3 States over.

[This message has been edited by fierosound (edited 08-26-2013).]

IP: Logged
Treep78
Member
Posts: 27
From: Abilene, TX / Harvard, MA | USA
Registered: Feb 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-26-2013 09:35 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Treep78Click Here to Email Treep78Send a Private Message to Treep78Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thanks for all the feedback. It's clear that Im an idiot so Im gonna try to get the thing started so I have transport until I can build and swap a new engine.

BTW it's nice to see someone in the abilene area.

Best regards to all.
IP: Logged
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14320
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 278
Rate this member

Report this Post08-26-2013 09:41 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Treep78:

Thanks for all the feedback. It's clear that Im an idiot


No you are not. Just start saving a lot of extra money if you are going this route.
Keep in mind you could be paying someone for their time to "learn" about the Fiero.

Later, you could be our next "if I were doing this over" story.

[This message has been edited by fierosound (edited 08-26-2013).]

IP: Logged
hiwil88formula
Member
Posts: 617
From: San Antonio, Texas
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (12)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-26-2013 10:40 AM Click Here to See the Profile for hiwil88formulaClick Here to Email hiwil88formulaSend a Private Message to hiwil88formulaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
If you need help/advice hit me up. I'm available most evenings.
IP: Logged
Arns85GT
Member
Posts: 11147
From: London, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 200
Rate this member

Report this Post08-26-2013 10:53 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Arns85GTClick Here to Email Arns85GTSend a Private Message to Arns85GTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Having done allot to my GT, I can tell you that if you NEED a car, starting with a dead 28 year old car is not a good option.

If you want a cheap engine replacement, the stock engine back in is the way to go.

That said, if you want a v8 the cheapest is to find a Cadillac Sedan DeVille from the 89 to 93 years. You pull the ecm, wiring harness, and drive train out of it.

The car will be cheap and the engine and tranny work.

But, if you are smart, keep the Fiero strictly as a hobby car and find a compact used for your daily needs.

Arn
IP: Logged
goatvenom
Member
Posts: 238
From: Belleville
Registered: Sep 2011


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-26-2013 11:39 AM Click Here to See the Profile for goatvenomClick Here to Email goatvenomSend a Private Message to goatvenomEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
for $4000 ill drive my car to your house and hand you everything i need.

realistically you could find a car closer or even half way across the country and have it shipped to you for pretty cheap.

if i were in your position i would definitely look into v8 swap or a 3800na with a wiring harness already made.

Ryan
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Grantman
Member
Posts: 1410
From: Glencoe, Minnesota, USA
Registered: Dec 2011


Feedback score:    (22)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-26-2013 12:06 PM Click Here to See the Profile for GrantmanClick Here to Email GrantmanSend a Private Message to GrantmanEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
IP: Logged
Treep78
Member
Posts: 27
From: Abilene, TX / Harvard, MA | USA
Registered: Feb 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-26-2013 01:33 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Treep78Click Here to Email Treep78Send a Private Message to Treep78Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Embarrassingly I never thought to look outside the state, though that LS1 is a bit extreme for me. If you know anyone trying to sell a 3800 and they're willing to help me ship it out here let me know.
IP: Logged
Andreeas
Member
Posts: 65
From: Huskvarna, Sweden
Registered: Aug 2011


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-27-2013 12:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for AndreeasClick Here to Email AndreeasSend a Private Message to AndreeasEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
You havent commented whats wrong with your duke...
IP: Logged
css9450
Member
Posts: 4987
From: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Registered: Nov 2002


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 82
Rate this member

Report this Post08-27-2013 01:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for css9450Click Here to Email css9450Send a Private Message to css9450Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Andreeas:

You havent commented whats wrong with your duke...


And why is there a two-week deadline?
IP: Logged
Treep78
Member
Posts: 27
From: Abilene, TX / Harvard, MA | USA
Registered: Feb 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-27-2013 02:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Treep78Click Here to Email Treep78Send a Private Message to Treep78Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Two week deadline is cause I need to come up with some sort of reliable transport to go grocery shopping etc. Not sure what wrong with the duke. Cranks but doesn't turn over and the battery is now dead. I might try to go to Dallas this weekend and pick up a running Fiero.
IP: Logged
Andreeas
Member
Posts: 65
From: Huskvarna, Sweden
Registered: Aug 2011


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-27-2013 04:06 PM Click Here to See the Profile for AndreeasClick Here to Email AndreeasSend a Private Message to AndreeasEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Made any troubleshooting so far? (With help from Fieroforums?)
IP: Logged
Lambo nut
Member
Posts: 4272
From: Centralia,Missouri. USA
Registered: Sep 2003


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 259
Rate this member

Report this Post08-27-2013 04:40 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lambo nutSend a Private Message to Lambo nutEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Treep78:

Two week deadline is cause I need to come up with some sort of reliable transport to go grocery shopping etc. Not sure what wrong with the duke. Cranks but doesn't turn over and the battery is now dead. I might try to go to Dallas this weekend and pick up a running Fiero.


Do you mean it cranks and it does turn over but wont fire/start?
Cranking and turning over is the same thing, firing/starting is the next step.

Kevin
IP: Logged
Treep78
Member
Posts: 27
From: Abilene, TX / Harvard, MA | USA
Registered: Feb 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-27-2013 05:02 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Treep78Click Here to Email Treep78Send a Private Message to Treep78Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Ya but honestly at this point even if I got it started I don't have my tools with me and it needs new tail light covers. To me it makes more sense to get a second Fiero and use this on for parts and as a frame to build stuff on for the other one.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock