ECM reprogramming on 86 2.5L by BH84SE
Started on: 08-09-2013 09:10 AM
Replies: 7 (382 views)
Last post by: BH84SE on 08-25-2013 07:01 PM
BH84SE

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-09-2013 09:10 AM Click Here to See the Profile for BH84SESend a Private Message to BH84SEEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hi all,
I am new to PFF, but have been hearing about it forever. I've had my 1984 SE for about 10 years... got it all original from the original owner. Since I got it and was using it as a daily driver for a 170-mile round-trip commute, I've had a couple problems...one of which prompted me to change the original motor for an 86 Tech4 and 5-speed trans. That worked out well, using the wiring harness and computer from te 86 and making some internal mods to make all the gauges, etc work properly.
Of course, the 86 engine/trans combo (paid only $75 for it and just dropped it right in) had it's problems. After a while the blue smoke when taking off from a dead stop got really annoying, so I decided to rebuild. Going with advice from some other folks, I got a cam from Oregon Cam Grinding and KB flat top pistoons (was mostly all the same price, so why not get a tiny performance boost?)... everything else was pretty stock, but completely machined, balanced, replaced or rebuilt.
Ok... so to the topic... Since doing the work, the fuel economy has gone from 30-35MPG to 17-20MPG and power seems to be sorely lacking. I don't make the long commute anymore, so I drive more in-town, but still the change is not really what should be expected.
I got hold of a guy at Harris Performance (also known as TBICHIPS.COM) and he said he can create a new program to match the specs of the motor, but I need to log some data for him. He said that the data logging program he normally suggests does not have an option for the Fiero chips.