Temp gauge wiring revisited by rmcmsw
Started on: 08-04-2013 02:52 PM
Replies: 9 (1056 views)
Last post by: Spoon on 11-28-2013 08:37 PM
rmcmsw

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-04-2013 02:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for rmcmswSend a Private Message to rmcmswEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have read the recommended re-wiring of the gauge wires to correct the pegging of the temp gauge needle. One thing the article fails to mention is the color code of the wires when they are in the correct position. I may have already done this mod since I have owned my 86 GT since it was new but after all these years one begins to forget what they have done and not done to their car. In other words, what is the color of the wires on A and B terminal and terminals 11 and 13 after the wires have been moved?

One of the reasons I ask this is that my temp gauge rarely goes above 150 degrees. I have a 195 degree thermostat and a Champion 3-core radiator. I bought and tested the system with the Rodney Dickman temp gauge tester and everything reads like it is suppose to. I have a halve dozen sender units as well as gauges and they all read the same. Turn the ignition key to the run position and it reads 100. The gauge does not peg when starting up. I’m at a loss as to what is wrong. I don’t think the engine is running that cool and the thermostat should raise the water temp to 195 degrees like it is suppose to. I may have not rewired it correctly some decades ago but I don’t want to start taking things apart without the correct wiring colors or it could be something else. Any thoughts will be appreciated.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
phonedawgz

Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 290
Rate this member