Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Tach & Fuel gauge stoped working at the same moment?

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Tach & Fuel gauge stoped working at the same moment? by 1fast2m4
Started on: 07-13-2013 09:06 AM
Replies: 3 (81 views)
Last post by: Arns85GT on 07-13-2013 07:18 PM
1fast2m4
Member
Posts: 513
From: Frederick, MD (U.S.A)
Registered: Feb 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-13-2013 09:06 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 1fast2m4Send a Private Message to 1fast2m4Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I was just driving along and noticed that my Tach was just sitting on 0rpm and my fuel gauge was pegged way fast full? Is there a common issue when the both stop at the same moment? they where working yesterday but not now. Spedo still works.

I'm amusing it's likely a cluster issue, maybe a good time to swap in my GT 120mph cluster.

------------------
1986 SE 3800SC/4t65eHD (12.871@104.96) I'll Sell it if you like
1985 GT 3800SC (swap in progress)

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Gall757
Member
Posts: 10626
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 88
Rate this member

Report this Post07-13-2013 11:51 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
When the fuel gauge goes high you have infinite resistance....a break in the circuit....so I would check the ground.
IP: Logged
jb1
Member
Posts: 2140
From: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Registered: May 2003


Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-13-2013 02:05 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jb1Click Here to Email jb1Send a Private Message to jb1Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
mine was bad. connection. on. left rear of panel. when my tach an fuel guage stopped working...

------------------


87 GT
series 1 3800sc (7.597 @88.53 1.579 60ft)
(series II swap in progress)
85GT Northstar
86GT 3800 n/a

IP: Logged
Arns85GT
Member
Posts: 11147
From: London, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 200
Rate this member

Report this Post07-13-2013 07:18 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Arns85GTClick Here to Email Arns85GTSend a Private Message to Arns85GTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The plugs on the back have copper leads, and they pressure fit into the foil leads. If they get a bit of corrosion, you could easily lose both at once.

I'd clean those contacts with electronics contact cleaner and some fine sand paper. Gentle, but get them shiny.

That is the first thing to do.

Arn
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock