Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Sequential turn signal mounting questions

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Sequential turn signal mounting questions by TONY_C
Started on: 05-02-2013 11:03 AM
Replies: 5 (256 views)
Last post by: xSnappy2 on 08-15-2013 05:25 PM
TONY_C
Member
Posts: 2747
From: North Bellmore, NY 11710
Registered: May 2001


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2013 11:03 AM Click Here to See the Profile for TONY_CSend a Private Message to TONY_CEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have a question about the install of the sequential turn signals from web electric. It says that the modules have to be mounted in the trunk but I did a search adn read that at least one forum member placed his behind the tail lights. Has anyone else done this? any pictures? If it matters, my car's a notchback. Also, how did you route the wire back to the dashboard to stop the brakes from sequencing. Thanks.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
raysr11
Member
Posts: 1254
From: Concrete, WA
Registered: Nov 2008


Feedback score:    (12)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2013 11:17 AM Click Here to See the Profile for raysr11Send a Private Message to raysr11Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I drilled a hole through the back of the trunk and ran the wires from the module thru the hole to the light sockets. The modules are between the trunk carpet and the trunk surface. There is already some pilot holes back there. Make sure you have enough slack from the modules so you can get all the sockets in. I saw all that extra wire and cut it off then had to splice it back in because the sockets wouldn't go back in.
As for the brake lights it explains that in the instructions. I didn't run any wire up to the dash at all. There is a good write up how-to on this here.

http://www.fierosearch.com/...nals&Action=DoSearch

[This message has been edited by raysr11 (edited 05-02-2013).]

IP: Logged
TONY_C
Member
Posts: 2747
From: North Bellmore, NY 11710
Registered: May 2001


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2013 12:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for TONY_CSend a Private Message to TONY_CEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thanks, a + for you.
IP: Logged
theogre
Member
Posts: 29192
From: USA
Registered: Mar 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 549
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2013 01:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
In the trunk helps avoiding corrosion etc vs mount behind taillights.
Use a grommet so vibration etc doesn't short out the unit.

------------------
Dr. Ian Malcolm: Yeah, but your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, they didn't stop to think if they should.
(Jurassic Park)


The Ogre's Fiero Cave (It's also at the top and bottom of every forum page...)

IP: Logged
Dave E Bouy
Member
Posts: 1437
From: Kettle Point Ontario Canada
Registered: Sep 2004


Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2013 09:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Dave E BouyClick Here to Email Dave E BouySend a Private Message to Dave E BouyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I mounted mine behind the tail light. I drilled some small holes somewhere back there ( this was a few years ago) and held them in the upright position with small cable ties.

DF
IP: Logged
xSnappy2
Junior Member
Posts: 1
From: Kenosha, WI, USA
Registered: Aug 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-15-2013 05:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for xSnappy2Click Here to Email xSnappy2Send a Private Message to xSnappy2Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
OK...so my brother & I were installing sequential taillights on my '88 Fiero coupe last night & we hooked everything up temporarily to see if we got the connections right & they worked beautifully. We started to clean up the wiring before putting everything back in place for good and now it appears we have no power to the brake and turn signal on the that side (other side & high mount stop light are OK) - taillights work, though, just not brake & turn signal. We checked the fuse & that looks good. We did clip a wire that was no longer being used flush with the connector, so am not sure if that makes any difference. We took the sequential module completely off & still get no power at the wire when we checked it with a voltmeter - it actually shows a negative number. We are stumped. Any ideas?

Thanks,


------------------
Don
Well done is better than well said...Benjamin Franklin

IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock