Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  ECOTEC TURBO 2.0

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
ECOTEC TURBO 2.0 by j bf1
Started on: 03-08-2013 11:13 PM
Replies: 10 (951 views)
Last post by: dobey on 01-02-2015 08:59 AM
j bf1
Member
Posts: 310
From: Plantaton,FL
Registered: Dec 2011


Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-08-2013 11:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for j bf1Click Here to Email j bf1Send a Private Message to j bf1Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Has anyone had success in completing an ecotec turbo 2.0 swap. Are you happy with it, how does it sound?, is it fast? cost involved etc etc. I want to know the good, bad and the ugly.

------------------
~John

'88 GT 5spd White/Beechwood
'00 Corvette vert. 6spd Yellow/Black
'05 Colorado Xtreme Black/Graphite

[This message has been edited by j bf1 (edited 03-08-2013).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
thesameguy
Member
Posts: 1414
From: California
Registered: Dec 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-09-2013 12:50 AM Click Here to See the Profile for thesameguyClick Here to Email thesameguySend a Private Message to thesameguyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I guess which Ecotec Turbo are you talking about... the direct-injected version, or the Saab port-injected version?
IP: Logged
j bf1
Member
Posts: 310
From: Plantaton,FL
Registered: Dec 2011


Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-09-2013 06:34 AM Click Here to See the Profile for j bf1Click Here to Email j bf1Send a Private Message to j bf1Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
SS Cobalt so I believe that's direct injection.
IP: Logged
BillS
Member
Posts: 593
From:
Registered: Apr 2000


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-09-2013 06:21 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BillSClick Here to Email BillSSend a Private Message to BillSEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The LNF turbo engine is a great swapping engine although I don't think I've seen one go into a Fiero yet - possibly due to price of used engines.

They can be made to put out around 400 BHP with stock internals and 500 with better pistons and rods and they weigh less than a V6, although with the turbo and intercoller it is probably about the same.

They look good and fit well. This is the one in my Solstice ('only' 350 BHP and close on 400 ft-lbs out of a 2.0)

This images is larger than 153600 bytes. Click to view.
IP: Logged
j bf1
Member
Posts: 310
From: Plantaton,FL
Registered: Dec 2011


Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-10-2013 05:42 PM Click Here to See the Profile for j bf1Click Here to Email j bf1Send a Private Message to j bf1Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Bump
IP: Logged
LoW_KeY
Member
Posts: 8081
From: Hastings, MI
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 150
Rate this member

Report this Post08-10-2013 06:28 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LoW_KeYSend a Private Message to LoW_KeYEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Are they fast I'd imagine... I laid out a nice 13.31@107 with my ss/tc on a not so aggressive tune. Now if the stock clutch would hold bigger turbo would be fun.

imagine costs are what's detouring people

------------------

3800 SC/IC Formula whines more than your girl...
08 Cobalt SS TC - ZZP tuned, K&N SRI, 6k HID's 13.31@107
07 HHR - Wifes (tried to have her get the SS)

IP: Logged
mitchjl22
Member
Posts: 1141
From: Boise, Idaho
Registered: Sep 2011


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-30-2014 02:37 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mitchjl22Click Here to Email mitchjl22Send a Private Message to mitchjl22Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Any swaps I can look at? I'm toying with the idea of the is swap the LNF that is.

------------------
My Car - 87' GT - 3800sc - Flat Black - Lowered
http://www.fiero.nl/forum/F.../HTML/121571.html#p0

IP: Logged
dobey
Member
Posts: 11572
From:
Registered: Sep 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 371
User Banned

Report this Post12-30-2014 02:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for dobeySend a Private Message to dobeyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
No, there are no completed LNF swaps currently, in the Fiero.

The only completed Ecotec swaps (turbo or otherwise) are non-SIDI variants.
IP: Logged
mitchjl22
Member
Posts: 1141
From: Boise, Idaho
Registered: Sep 2011


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-02-2015 01:50 AM Click Here to See the Profile for mitchjl22Click Here to Email mitchjl22Send a Private Message to mitchjl22Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Where can I find a nice ecotec thread searching just brings up threads like this one...

-Mitch
IP: Logged
wftb
Member
Posts: 3675
From: kincardine,ontario,canada
Registered: Jun 2005


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-02-2015 08:55 AM Click Here to See the Profile for wftbClick Here to Email wftbSend a Private Message to wftbEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
go to my thread in the construction zone .all ecotecs can be mounted the same way . only fuel and electronics vary .Blocks are all physically the same on the outside . LNF wiring , you will be on your own .
IP: Logged
dobey
Member
Posts: 11572
From:
Registered: Sep 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 371
User Banned

Report this Post01-02-2015 08:59 AM Click Here to See the Profile for dobeySend a Private Message to dobeyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by mitchjl22:

Where can I find a nice ecotec thread searching just brings up threads like this one...

-Mitch


If you want a nice LNF thread, there isn't one, because nobody has done the swap. If you want general Ecotec threads, there are a couple:

http://www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum3/HTML/000029.html
http://www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum2/HTML/000544.html
http://www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum1/HTML/094237.html

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock