Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Car starts, wont stay running unless moving throttle. (Page 3)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

This topic is 6 pages long:  1   2   3   4   5   6 
Previous Page | Next Page
next newest topic | next oldest topic
Car starts, wont stay running unless moving throttle. by Shonyman32
Started on: 02-28-2013 11:25 AM
Replies: 207 (6343 views)
Last post by: 2.5 on 11-27-2013 11:18 AM
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 03:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
When I move the TPS it wants to die.
Are you talking about the TPS?
IP: Logged
kikinz24
Member
Posts: 729
From: OHIO
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 03:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for kikinz24Click Here to Email kikinz24Send a Private Message to kikinz24Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yea the tps.. but dont move it too much just ever so slightly if u crank it open it tells the pcm its open add fuel.. that's am easy test to see If you need more fuel... also try the iac motor unscrew it so you can turn the threads by hand.. try unscrewing it all the way thus allowing more air thru the throttlebody... you should be anlr to completly remove it from the throttlebody and still maintain idle.. in fact your idle should increase
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 03:39 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
At a low rpm the when moving the TPS the engine wants to die.
Above 1500 the car runs a lot smoother.

I did this until the car warmed up and when it warms up it will idle a lot better and once the engine was warm I would open the TPS and the car would cut RPM's for a split second then maintain where it was.
IP: Logged
kikinz24
Member
Posts: 729
From: OHIO
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 05:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for kikinz24Click Here to Email kikinz24Send a Private Message to kikinz24Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Did you try unscrewing the iac motor all the way ?
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 05:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Could I possibly have a VAC. Leak that when the car warms up it closes?

Could my Fuel Pressure Regulator not be working properly? There is no gas in the line.
IP: Logged
kikinz24
Member
Posts: 729
From: OHIO
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 05:51 PM Click Here to See the Profile for kikinz24Click Here to Email kikinz24Send a Private Message to kikinz24Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
What do you mean no gas in the line?? In the return or feed line.. ?? Do you have peessure and fuel coming up from the filter?
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 05:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Completely take it out?
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 06:00 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Shonyman32

566 posts
Member since Jan 2012
Should have elaborated a little my! My apologies. No fuel in the Vac. line to the regulator.

Took the IAC out completely and started it and the car ran great at 2500 RPM's ish.
IP: Logged
kikinz24
Member
Posts: 729
From: OHIO
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 06:00 PM Click Here to See the Profile for kikinz24Click Here to Email kikinz24Send a Private Message to kikinz24Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yes if you unscrew it all the way it'll idle higher due to more air directly into the throttlebody.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 06:01 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
It idle strong as well, but the engine was warm. I'll do the test cold next chance I get.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 06:09 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
When cold if I try to hold the RPM's at a steady RPM's will fall.

I am getting way to much air
I am not getting enough air

I am getting to much fuel
I am not getting enough fuel

I am going to pull the spark plugs (trunk side only) and look to see if they are dry or covered.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 06:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
My spark plugs all look very dry.
Orange, white, and little green ish tint.
Only checked trunk side three.
IP: Logged
kikinz24
Member
Posts: 729
From: OHIO
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 07:18 PM Click Here to See the Profile for kikinz24Click Here to Email kikinz24Send a Private Message to kikinz24Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yes if you unscrew it all the way it'll idle higher due to more air directly into the throttlebody.
IP: Logged
kikinz24
Member
Posts: 729
From: OHIO
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 07:21 PM Click Here to See the Profile for kikinz24Click Here to Email kikinz24Send a Private Message to kikinz24Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

kikinz24

729 posts
Member since Jun 2010
Thats definitly a sign of running lean.. maybe ur pump isnt flowing enough fuel, if you take the vac line off the fpr. It will increase to the highest pressure. Just make sure to cap off the end of the vac line so you don't have a vac leak.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 08:02 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I will try that.
IP: Logged
kikinz24
Member
Posts: 729
From: OHIO
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 08:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for kikinz24Click Here to Email kikinz24Send a Private Message to kikinz24Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thats definitly a sign of running lean.. maybe ur pump isnt flowing enough fuel, if you take the vac line off the fpr. It will increase to the highest pressure. Just make sure to cap off the end of the vac line so you don't have a vac leak.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 09:00 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Unplugged the Vac. line and capped it and although I haven't don't a complete cold start it did seem to run better but now almost to RICH. I have a very little exhaust leak and it is backfiring through the exhaust now when revving up and letting completely off. It did this before but not as bad as it does it with the line unplugged. Haven't checked fuel pressure.

Brand new pump so in theory it should be flowing enough fuel. Also the car runs a lot better warm than when cold.

Will be doing a complete cold start tomorrow morning.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 09:02 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Shonyman32

566 posts
Member since Jan 2012
Also my first 0-60 run was 8.59 and now my second with the FPR line unplugged was 8.2.

Only two times I have floored it since rebuild and it felt good!
IP: Logged
kikinz24
Member
Posts: 729
From: OHIO
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-27-2013 09:16 PM Click Here to See the Profile for kikinz24Click Here to Email kikinz24Send a Private Message to kikinz24Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
that would be from running at a very high fuel pressure at idle .. if this is the case and it runs now, I would say your fpr is going bad. I believe they sell a rebuild kit for them that's fairly cheap. But definitly check it in the morning when its cold.. I hope this helps
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-28-2013 03:44 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Fuel pressure is only 43 now. So I assume instead of running rich I was still running lean.
IP: Logged
kikinz24
Member
Posts: 729
From: OHIO
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-28-2013 04:40 PM Click Here to See the Profile for kikinz24Click Here to Email kikinz24Send a Private Message to kikinz24Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
How does it run on a cold start tho?? I can't see it being lean.. and I believe the stock fpr maxxes out at 45 psi
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-28-2013 10:40 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
It runs better cold but still not like it should.
There is less hesitation though.
IP: Logged
kikinz24
Member
Posts: 729
From: OHIO
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-29-2013 09:01 AM Click Here to See the Profile for kikinz24Click Here to Email kikinz24Send a Private Message to kikinz24Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Just a random q. When you rebuilt the motor did you use teflon tape on any of the sensors. ?like the cts.
IP: Logged
kikinz24
Member
Posts: 729
From: OHIO
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-29-2013 10:40 AM Click Here to See the Profile for kikinz24Click Here to Email kikinz24Send a Private Message to kikinz24Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Just a random q. When you rebuilt the motor did you use teflon tape on any of the sensors. ?like the cts.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-29-2013 03:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
No I did not put teflon tape on anything.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-29-2013 07:34 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I got WinALDL to work.

My TPS with not touching throttle is .94 volts 9.9% open when not even touching the throttle. WOT is 3.96 volts 84.2% open at WOT.
MAT (intake temp) 92 F.
BLM hasn't moved from 128 ever. INT 128 always as well.
RPM's look accurate compared to gauge.
IAC seems accurate as well although moving around quite a bit.
MAP reading around 1.1 at idle.
Coolant temp going up very slowly.
It says 30 degrees advance.
O2 Sensor between .22 and .50
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-29-2013 08:44 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Also I let the car idle for about 5-7 minutes then when I took off before I got to 40 mph I threw a code 32.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-30-2013 11:52 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
While on the interstate going 63 mph the BLM's were 150 and the INT's were 198 at highest. My previous post about BLM staying 128 and INT staying 128 is inaccurate!
My BLM's got to 130 earlier and my INT were all over the place when I gave it any more than quarter throttle.

The car starts to run normal at a temp. around 105 F. I think my thermostat is bad because I never reach even 200 F while driving in the city. A 15 min drive 10 min city and 5 min interstate (last part of drive interstate) and then about a half mile off the interstate My temp. never got above 175 F.

TPS is now only 8.9 percent at not touching the throttle. I reset the Idle. Is it bad that my TPS doesn't open to 100% or closer?

IAC is moving a lot. I've seen numbers from 40 to 255. Which is a good thing but from while stopped at a stop light with the car idling the IAC counts move a lot, from lower 100's to 255 and then back down and up all over the place. I just do not know if this is normal. The warmer my car is the better it runs.

I have never seen my O2 sensor read .6 or higher. This basically says I am running very lean. Also I have now seen numbers as low as .1XX.

My ADVANCE at a stop says it is 18. I know I set my car at 10 though. I will re-time it and check again with WinALDL but the distributor has not moved.

IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-30-2013 12:18 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
EGR says it was open about 50% going 63 mph, and it come on as early as 30 MPH.

IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-30-2013 02:17 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Well my BLM's are at 130 when not touching the throttle and when touching the throttle at all the BLM's go to 150. The INT's stay 128 the whole time now.
IP: Logged
Grizz54
Member
Posts: 73
From: Palmer, Ne. U.S.A.
Registered: Aug 2009


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-30-2013 11:00 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Grizz54Click Here to Email Grizz54Send a Private Message to Grizz54Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Have you put a vacuum gauge on this to see what you are running vor vacuum?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Grizz54
Member
Posts: 73
From: Palmer, Ne. U.S.A.
Registered: Aug 2009


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-30-2013 11:07 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Grizz54Click Here to Email Grizz54Send a Private Message to Grizz54Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Don't see where you put an o2 sensor in. you can check your o2 by spraying fuel into the throttle. enough fuel should bring voltage up to .9 v on the scan tool. pulling a vacuum hose off (like the pcv or brake booster hose) should drop voltage to at least .2 v.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-31-2013 02:01 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Last I checked vacuum was right around 19 at idle but I will have to check again to make sure.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-31-2013 02:04 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Shonyman32

566 posts
Member since Jan 2012
Whenever I accelerate the 02 reads .2 to around low fours and never goes rich when steady speed 02 will bounce from no more than .55 but down to .2. While anytime I am onnthe gas my blms are 150.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-31-2013 09:09 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Any thoughts on 17 pound injectors?
The readings are with the FPR unplugged and the Vac. line plugged so I am at max fuel psi.

BTW I am already lean before I make the car have a Vac. Leak.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2013 01:20 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Bump.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-02-2013 04:42 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
My 02 sensor reads in the .6 .7 volts at WOT.

My INT's were in the 210's when accelerating normal in town once the engine warmed up.

BLM's stll 150.
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-02-2013 08:43 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have an exhaust leak. Could the leak be sucking in air and making the 02 sensor look lean? Raising the BLM's?

Although my spark plugs look dry.
IP: Logged
Gall757
Member
Posts: 10659
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 88
Rate this member

Report this Post08-02-2013 10:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yes
IP: Logged
Shonyman32
Member
Posts: 566
From: Shelbyville, IN
Registered: Jan 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-05-2013 01:41 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Shonyman32Send a Private Message to Shonyman32Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
When should the EGR be open?

When accelerating at all from a stop (mildly, TPS at 15, 25%) the EGR reads anywhere from 30 to 50%. At hard throttle it reads zero.

Is this normal for the EGR to open when accelerating from a stop?
IP: Logged
Previous Page | Next Page

This topic is 6 pages long:  1   2   3   4   5   6 
next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock