Click here to visit Black Top Racing | View all sponsors
  Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Locked keys in trunk! Help!

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Locked keys in trunk! Help! by dragonbeast25
Started on: 02-04-2013 05:44 PM
Replies: 12 (396 views)
Last post by: RWDPLZ on 02-05-2013 07:50 PM
dragonbeast25
Member

Posts: 16
From: London, ON, CANADA
Registered: Jan 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

02-04-2013 05:44 PM Click Here to See the Profile for dragonbeast25Click Here to Email dragonbeast25Send a Private Message to dragonbeast25Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

I ended up locking my keys in my trunk. I tried to use my eletronic release button, it doesn't do anything. Can anyone help me out.? Thanks

IP: Logged

Ang84Indy
Member

Posts: 554
From: Ohio
Registered: Jul 2009


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

02-04-2013 06:07 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Ang84IndySend a Private Message to Ang84IndyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

You too? I'll have to call a locksmith to get my trunk open. I have another Fiero with electric trunk release, and if I remember correctly, the key has to be in the ignition in order to pop the trunk. That one hasn't run in years, so I can't go out and verify the operation.

IP: Logged

DaytonTD
Member

Posts: 156
From: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Registered: Dec 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

02-04-2013 06:18 PM Click Here to See the Profile for DaytonTDClick Here to Email DaytonTDSend a Private Message to DaytonTDEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

No I don't think the keys have to be in it. Get someone to keep pressing the button while you push down on the truck and lift up jiggling it, sometimes it just needs to be in the right position to release

IP: Logged

RWDPLZ
Member

Posts: 12945
From: San Jose, CA
Registered: May 2002


Feedback score:    (11)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 280
Rate this member

02-04-2013 06:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RWDPLZClick Here to visit RWDPLZ's HomePageSend a Private Message to RWDPLZEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

For an 84, the ignition has to be in the 'on' position. 85+, even if the car is off with no keys in the ignition, the trunk button will work. If the button isn't working on an 85+, the battery is dead or disconnected, or the lock solenoid isn't making a good ground. You can try pulling up or pushing down on the decklid while someone presses the button to complete the circuit. If you have an 84, you need a locksmith.

IP: Logged

Ang84Indy
Member

Posts: 554
From: Ohio
Registered: Jul 2009


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

02-04-2013 06:48 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Ang84IndySend a Private Message to Ang84IndyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

I see... I was referring to my Indy. Interesting that only the '84s needed the key in the ignition.

IP: Logged

Purple86GT
Member

Posts: 1590
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: Mar 2012


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 64
Rate this member

02-04-2013 06:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Purple86GTClick Here to Email Purple86GTSend a Private Message to Purple86GTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Try this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FRtW04sifh4

It's what the locksmith will do anyhow.

Google jiggler key and it will show you how to make and use it.. It's scarry simple...

IP: Logged

FFIEROFRED
Member

Posts: 718
From: GULFPORT, MS
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

02-04-2013 07:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FFIEROFREDClick Here to Email FFIEROFREDSend a Private Message to FFIEROFREDEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

use a set of jumper cables, a small screw driver. Hook jumper cables to bat. put a small screwdriver in the positive lead. hold the trunk button down. touch screwdrive tip to the back of the fuse's untill trunk pops. the fuse's have a little test hole that lets you power them up.
the trunk may ground through the latch.

IP: Logged

mitchjl22
Member

Posts: 1008
From: Meridian, Idaho
Registered: Sep 2011


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

02-05-2013 01:27 AM Click Here to See the Profile for mitchjl22Click Here to Email mitchjl22Send a Private Message to mitchjl22Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Just jumper the wires on the switch? Maybe your switch is bad.

IP: Logged

mmeyer86gt/gtp
Member

Posts: 2889
From: Galt,CA
Registered: Sep 2001


Feedback score:    (135)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 56
Rate this member

02-05-2013 01:40 AM Click Here to See the Profile for mmeyer86gt/gtpClick Here to Email mmeyer86gt/gtpSend a Private Message to mmeyer86gt/gtpEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

if you have a power trunk release you just need to put 12v to the grey black wire on the relay that is under the column if you can get into the car. or if you had a handy dandy lock unlock kit you would just hit the trunk release on the key fob. pm me if you want to know more.

IP: Logged

Fierology
Member

Posts: 1136
From: California
Registered: Dec 2006


Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

02-05-2013 08:39 AM Click Here to See the Profile for FierologySend a Private Message to FierologyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

My switch wouldn't work because the part that flips the toggle is plastic. It's not too robust and can break with use. If you pull off your switch, (torx), you may be able to find a broken piece of plastic inside preventing the actuation. Then you can flip the switch with a screwdriver.

-Michael

IP: Logged

dragonbeast25
Member

Posts: 16
From: London, ON, CANADA
Registered: Jan 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

02-05-2013 05:49 PM Click Here to See the Profile for dragonbeast25Click Here to Email dragonbeast25Send a Private Message to dragonbeast25Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Thank you all very much! I will try everything posted here, and ill come back and let you know how it goes! Thanks!!

IP: Logged

dragonbeast25
Member

Posts: 16
From: London, ON, CANADA
Registered: Jan 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

02-05-2013 06:08 PM Click Here to See the Profile for dragonbeast25Click Here to Email dragonbeast25Send a Private Message to dragonbeast25Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

So i pulled the switch out and theres 4 wires. Which ones do i jump

IP: Logged

RWDPLZ
Member

Posts: 12945
From: San Jose, CA
Registered: May 2002


Feedback score:    (11)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 280
Rate this member

02-05-2013 07:50 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RWDPLZClick Here to visit RWDPLZ's HomePageSend a Private Message to RWDPLZEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Depends on the year, 85-86, yellow/black to orange, 87-88, gray/black to orange/dark blue

IP: Logged


next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock