Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  ECM fiero (2.8V6) 3.4V6 5speed

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
ECM fiero (2.8V6) 3.4V6 5speed by my-fiero
Started on: 07-21-2014 06:07 AM
Replies: 8 (181 views)
Last post by: my-fiero on 07-22-2014 06:04 AM
my-fiero
Member
Posts: 296
From: The Netherlands
Registered: Dec 2002


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-21-2014 06:07 AM Click Here to See the Profile for my-fieroClick Here to Email my-fieroSend a Private Message to my-fieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hello,

I have a 1987 fiero t-top that I try to restorate, and now after many years finally try to start the engine.
I have only one problem, I have 2 ECM's and one of them comes from the 1987 fiero
but what. I drove the car home whit one of thise?

1 - ECM 1227170 Prom FBA1819 (1986-87 automaat)
2 - ECM 1226869 Prom FTY9355 (1985 4 speed)

Wil it be a problem to use one of those? or do i need to change to the right one?

The car's info:
3.4 V6 5 speed isuzu transmission

Stan
the Netherlands
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
fierofool
Member
Posts: 11834
From: Auburn, Georgia USA
Registered: Jan 2002


Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 151
Rate this member

Report this Post07-21-2014 07:43 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofoolClick Here to visit fierofool's HomePageClick Here to Email fierofoolSend a Private Message to fierofoolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
If both are Fiero ECM's from a V6, you may be able to use either. The 3.4 is identical to the 2.8 that originally came in the 87, so in a sense, there's no change there that the ECM would detect.

If the transmission is a manual, you could use either ECM. An ECM from an automatic will correctly control an engine with a manual transmission, or so I've been told by others on this forum. If the transmission is an automatic, and the ECM is from a manual transmission vehicle, it won't operate the transmission TCC switch. The V6 ECM's don't care what manual transmission you have since there's no sensors on the transmission.
IP: Logged
my-fiero
Member
Posts: 296
From: The Netherlands
Registered: Dec 2002


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-21-2014 08:21 AM Click Here to See the Profile for my-fieroClick Here to Email my-fieroSend a Private Message to my-fieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yes they are both from a fiero V6

OK, thanks that is clear.

then I have 2 options

option 1 : use the 1987 ECM 1227170 whit prom FBA1819 ?

Or

Option 2: use the ECM 1227170 and switch the prom whit the FTY9355

What can I use best then.

Stan
the netherlands
IP: Logged
Arns85GT
Member
Posts: 11147
From: London, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 200
Rate this member

Report this Post07-21-2014 08:33 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Arns85GTClick Here to Email Arns85GTSend a Private Message to Arns85GTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The 85 ECM is more flexible and adaptable. I believe it will run just fine with a 3.4 block if you use the Fiero heads and fuel rail.

The modified chips don't give you much at all.
IP: Logged
masospaghetti
Member
Posts: 2477
From: Charlotte, NC USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (10)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-21-2014 10:29 AM Click Here to See the Profile for masospaghettiClick Here to Email masospaghettiSend a Private Message to masospaghettiEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Are the two ECMs electrically the same? Same connectors, etc?

I have also heard that the early 6869 ECM is better than the 7170.
IP: Logged
lou_dias
Member
Posts: 5083
From: Warwick, RI
Registered: Jun 2000


Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 65
Rate this member

Report this Post07-21-2014 10:48 AM Click Here to See the Profile for lou_diasClick Here to Email lou_diasSend a Private Message to lou_diasEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by masospaghetti:

Are the two ECMs electrically the same? Same connectors, etc?

I have also heard that the early 6869 ECM is better than the 7170.

The 85ECM has some extra hardware to handle input from an ESC(knock sensor) module but it is unused in the stock Fiero programming, IIRC. The 7170 is a 'low-cost' version that removed the un-used hardware.
IP: Logged
fierofool
Member
Posts: 11834
From: Auburn, Georgia USA
Registered: Jan 2002


Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 151
Rate this member

Report this Post07-21-2014 01:48 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofoolClick Here to visit fierofool's HomePageClick Here to Email fierofoolSend a Private Message to fierofoolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by masospaghetti:

Are the two ECMs electrically the same? Same connectors, etc?

I have also heard that the early 6869 ECM is better than the 7170.


The V6 ECM connections are the same whether manual or automatic. There harness wire isn't there for the knock sensor and would need to be added to the harness if it were used. A knock sensor can be installed when running the 3.4. I'm not sure how effective it would be with a distributor. Maybe that's why they removed it from the programming.
IP: Logged
Raydar
Member
Posts: 38529
From: Carrollton GA. Out in the... country.
Registered: Oct 1999


Feedback score:    (11)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 451
Rate this member

Report this Post07-21-2014 05:05 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RaydarClick Here to Email RaydarSend a Private Message to RaydarEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I would use the "6869" with the 4 speed chip.
It will run the 3.4 (assuming the 3.4 has been installed using the Fiero pieces) just fine. I ran my 3.4 with a 6869 for a while.

The "7170" will also run your engine, but you really want to change to a manual chip if you use it. (Any manual chip from a 7170 will work. 86-88 model year.)
There are some differences with the programming. The automatic chip will cause the engine to idle too high, and will do strange things when coming to a stop (among other things.) Been there.

Note that the 7170 chips and the 6869 chips are not interchangeable with one another. The data is written into different locations in the chip.
Using the wrong chip will likely cause the chip to "not be found" by the ECM.
IP: Logged
my-fiero
Member
Posts: 296
From: The Netherlands
Registered: Dec 2002


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-22-2014 06:04 AM Click Here to See the Profile for my-fieroClick Here to Email my-fieroSend a Private Message to my-fieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thanks all for the help.

Raydar your text is clear to me
I will use ECM 1226869 Prom FTY9355 (1985 4 speed) and not switch anything.

the 3.4L is whit the fiero parts, no knock sensor used.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock