Started on: 07-20-2014 07:06 AM
Replies: 4 (528 views)
Last post by: Bloozberry on 07-20-2014 12:10 PM
Rodney

Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 267
Rate this member

Report this Post07-20-2014 07:06 AM Click Here to See the Profile for RodneyClick Here to visit Rodney's HomePageSend a Private Message to RodneyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I've been pondering this for many many years now. How to make a gated shifter in a Fiero as I have always wanted one in my 88 Mera. In this case a gated shifter in a Fiero with the Getrag 5 speed. I am going to put some effort into this maybe soon. The single biggest problem is that to really make a gated shifter in a Fiero the pivot point for the shifter has to be very close to the floor where the shifter assembly bolts into the Fiero sub frame. This means the shifting arm on the Getrag trans has to be rotated 180 degrees so the shifting pattern stays the same. This requires the shift cable mounting point to be moved towards the passenger side some. I have to look to see if that is feasible. I think it is. The select cable is now moved to the passenger side of the shifting assembly. That should be no problem.

Also to have a good gated shifter one needs to have a solid mounting point for the steel gated piece. I would try to make steel risers to come up so one can mount a gated shifter plate and it is mounted to steel instead of the plastic parts the console top mounts to.

Possibly the only trans this will work on is the Getrag 5 speed. It is possibly the only trans the top shifting arm can be rotated 180 degrees easily and the shift cable mounting point can be reworked to match.