Temp gauge/fan by KJENKINS1
Started on: 07-11-2014 03:36 PM
Replies: 13 (652 views)
Last post by: phonedawgz on 07-16-2014 02:35 AM
KJENKINS1

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-11-2014 03:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for KJENKINS1Send a Private Message to KJENKINS1Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I purchase an 86 GT a couple months ago. Overall it is in great shape but the temperature guage doesn't seem to work. At first, I thought the engine was running cool but it should register some temp rise and it doesn't. I have replaced the thermostat. I didn't expect that to solve the problem but it needed to be replaced.

I have ordered the Temp Gauge Sending Unit and the Fan Switch. Am I on the right track? Is there a more certain way to diagnose the problem? As you can tell, I am a novice so any help is appreciated. Also, I am thinking the temperature problem is related to the fan not running. If it begins to sense temperature the fan will kick in? Please confirm.

Thanks,
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
fierofool

Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 154
Rate this member

Report this Post07-11-2014 04:10 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofoolClick Here to visit fierofool's HomePageSend a Private Message to fierofoolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
May I be the first to welcome you to the forum and one of the Fiero's little idiosyncrasies. The gauge sender and the fan switch are two entirely independent circuits. The gauge sender has no effect on anything except the driver's nerves, making him or her wonder if the Fiero is actually running that cool or close to overheating.