Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Flywheel resurface

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Flywheel resurface by LornesGT
Started on: 06-25-2014 12:48 AM
Replies: 7 (273 views)
Last post by: Patrick on 06-26-2014 02:36 PM
LornesGT
Member
Posts: 1300
From: Granite City, IL
Registered: Jan 2013


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-25-2014 12:48 AM Click Here to See the Profile for LornesGTSend a Private Message to LornesGTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
So I have read here that .806 for the flywheel thickness is still good to go. I measured mine today and it is .606 and need some work. The clutch didn't slip even having oil on it, at least I couldnt tell. What is the minimum you have tried? Is there a shim available?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Gall757
Member
Posts: 10659
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 88
Rate this member

Report this Post06-25-2014 03:03 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Do you have the original flywheel?

or I should ask: Is your flywheel original equipment or did someone put in an aftermarket one? I have never encountered that much variation in thickness.

[This message has been edited by Gall757 (edited 06-25-2014).]

IP: Logged
Kevin87FieroGT
Member
Posts: 1171
From: Michigan
Registered: Nov 2010


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-25-2014 03:41 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Kevin87FieroGTSend a Private Message to Kevin87FieroGTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I always thought a resurfacing of the flywheel without cleaning up rivet scoring so would only remove .010" each time it was done. Can't imagine with rivet scoring it would be a whole lot more unless done numerous times, or by a hack in the back room.

There are shims available in varying thicknesses. Check Rock Auto, Summit, or your local speed shop.

[This message has been edited by Kevin87FieroGT (edited 06-25-2014).]

IP: Logged
LornesGT
Member
Posts: 1300
From: Granite City, IL
Registered: Jan 2013


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-25-2014 10:29 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LornesGTSend a Private Message to LornesGTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have no idea how to tell if OEM?

If I add a shim should I add enough to get back to .806?
IP: Logged
bigals
Member
Posts: 149
From: high point, nc, usa
Registered: May 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-26-2014 09:20 AM Click Here to See the Profile for bigalsClick Here to Email bigalsSend a Private Message to bigalsEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yes shims will get the spacing right. Go for either the same height or within 20 thousands will be ready to go
IP: Logged
rogergarrison
Member
Posts: 49593
From: A Western Caribbean Island/ Columbus, Ohio
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 552
Rate this member

Report this Post06-26-2014 09:59 AM Click Here to See the Profile for rogergarrisonClick Here to Email rogergarrisonSend a Private Message to rogergarrisonEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Ill just take a guess and say that an OEM will have a GM number on it somewhere.
IP: Logged
trotterlg
Member
Posts: 1378
From: WA
Registered: Aug 2011


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-26-2014 02:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for trotterlgClick Here to Email trotterlgSend a Private Message to trotterlgEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
How and where are you measuring the thickness? Larry
IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 30734
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 443
Rate this member

Report this Post06-26-2014 02:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by LornesGT:

Is there a shim available?


We had a good discussion regarding the use shims in my flywheel thread HERE.

[This message has been edited by Patrick (edited 06-26-2014).]

IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock