New Fiero Owner? help! by musicmansam
Started on: 05-01-2018 09:25 AM
Replies: 7 (179 views)
Last post by: Spadesluck on 05-01-2018 12:40 PM
musicmansam

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-01-2018 09:25 AM Click Here to See the Profile for musicmansamSend a Private Message to musicmansamEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hey all, I'm looking to purchase a Fiero soon. I found a nice looking 87 GT on craigslist for $3k. It's never seen a winter and looks in very good condition. Asked the guy is there was anything big wrong with it and he says the battery is shot (no big deal) and that there's a leak in the exhaust manifold gasket. Is this something I should be very worried about? He claims it does not affect performance whatsoever but i know y'all here would know better than many. I'm still new to the car scene, especially Fiero, but am really looking forward to getting into it. Any suggestions?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
theogre

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 567
Rate this member

Report this Post05-01-2018 10:47 AM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
"It's never seen a winter" and "leak in the exhaust manifold/gasket." yet "claims it does not affect performance whatsoever" are reasons to question the rest of any statements you hear. So "Is this something I should be very worried about?" is yes and if you can't check out in engine bay etc then have someone check for that and more problems.

Any exhaust leaks are a problem and cause many other problems that may not be obvious right now. Exhaust Leaks pointed to wiring etc can kill the car on the highway or even cause a fire.