Pennock's Fiero Forum
  General Fiero Chat
  86 and 88 rear frame interchange?

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
86 and 88 rear frame interchange? by gomezaddams
Started on: 06-09-2017 08:16 AM
Replies: 6 (216 views)
Last post by: Blacktree on 06-12-2017 10:02 AM
gomezaddams
Member
Posts: 15
From: gilboa
Registered: Dec 2015


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-09-2017 08:16 AM Click Here to See the Profile for gomezaddamsSend a Private Message to gomezaddamsEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I bought an 88 with a 4cyl 5speed that is on its way out. Locally for sale is an 86 complete rear frame and 6cly 4 speed. Is that a straight bolt on? Or is the rear frame on the 88 different?
Itd be nice to drive it while building a new motor/trans combo on the original frame.

------------------
waiting will fill

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
olejoedad
Member
Posts: 14015
From: Clarendon Twp., MI
Registered: May 2004


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 188
Rate this member

Report this Post06-09-2017 08:38 AM Click Here to See the Profile for olejoedadClick Here to Email olejoedadSend a Private Message to olejoedadEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The subframe attachment points are the same.
The location of the upper strut mounts are slightly different, the 88 is farther forward and inboard.
It will bolt in, but you may have rear alignment issues.
IP: Logged
cvxjet
Member
Posts: 2092
From: ca, usa
Registered: May 2010


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-09-2017 11:22 AM Click Here to See the Profile for cvxjetClick Here to Email cvxjetSend a Private Message to cvxjetEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
In the final analysis, you want the 88 subframe- Solid mounted so it acts like a reinforcement for the body, and a much improved suspension design.....

If you want, use the 86 subframe to hold the engine trany until you're ready, then pull the 88 frame out and just quickly transfer the engine/trany to it and ....install....The only difference in mounting is the actual engine mount and bracket on the right side at the "front" of the engine.
IP: Logged
fieroguru
Member
Posts: 11231
From: Champaign, IL
Registered: Aug 2003


Feedback score:    (45)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 255
Rate this member

Report this Post06-09-2017 12:45 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fieroguruSend a Private Message to fieroguruEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
So you are looking at installing an 86 rear cradle with V6 and 4 speed into an 88 coupe that was a 4cyl/5 speed?

In this scenario, the cradle will bolt in and you shouldn't have much issue with adjusting the rear camber. You will need to use the 88 struts for the upper spring hat (bolt pattern) and smaller diameter springs to fit the 88 strut towers, but you shouldn't have any issue dialing in the proper rear camber. The issue with camber is installing an 88 cradle in an 84-87 chassis.

Assuming you get the engine harness, ecm, shifter cables, shifter, etc from the donor chassis, it is mostly plug & play. You will need to add a fuse to the ING 2 location, remove the hose barb on the top of the water pump and install a cap, install a V6 fuel pump, and be willing to live w/o backup lights and parking brake until you swap back (unless you want to run the wires needed for the backup light switch moving to the console vs. being at the transmission and swap out the chassis side parking brake cable. You can reuse the 5 speed shifter, but you won't have a reverse lockout (unless you buy one of my bolt on units!)
IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 30130
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 442
Rate this member

Report this Post06-09-2017 01:54 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by fieroguru:

You will need to add a fuse to the ING 2 location...


Very slight correction to your always informative posts... INJ2

IP: Logged
gomezaddams
Member
Posts: 15
From: gilboa
Registered: Dec 2015


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-09-2017 06:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for gomezaddamsSend a Private Message to gomezaddamsEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Ok so doable, but not as straightforward as I had hoped. Ill consider it while Im looking at the extent of the damage on my 4 this weekend.
Thanks
IP: Logged
Blacktree
Member
Posts: 20295
From: Central Florida
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score:    (11)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 349
Rate this member

Report this Post06-12-2017 10:02 AM Click Here to See the Profile for BlacktreeClick Here to visit Blacktree's HomePageClick Here to Email BlacktreeSend a Private Message to BlacktreeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The '88 Fiero has a completely different suspension and brake setup from the earlier years. Plus you're going from 4-cyl to V6, which means changing out the engine wiring harness, ECM, fuel pump, fuel lines, coolant lines, etc. IMO, that's more trouble than it's worth. You might be better off just renting or borrowing another car while you fix your Fiero. Or maybe find another '88 4-cyl to donate a drivetrain.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock