Pennock's Fiero Forum
  General Fiero Chat
   Shifter and Select cable question 87 GT - 3 questions

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Shifter and Select cable question 87 GT - 3 questions by robert1234
Started on: 01-04-2016 05:53 PM
Replies: 7 (116 views)
Last post by: robert1234 on 01-04-2016 10:17 PM
robert1234
Member
Posts: 461
From: Knoxville TN
Registered: Oct 2015


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-04-2016 05:53 PM Click Here to See the Profile for robert1234Click Here to Email robert1234Send a Private Message to robert1234Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I need new cables, yes Rodney.
But my question is ? Do the cables come with an adjustment or do they just install without having to adjust them?

If I need to replace one, seems like I should just do both while I'm doing it.....correct?

Also, is the shift kit worth doing as well?

3 questions....

Thanks

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Patrick
Member
Posts: 30221
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 443
Rate this member

Report this Post01-04-2016 07:32 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
With the Getrag, there's an adjustment on one of the cables if I remember correctly.

I'd only replace the bad cable if the other one slides smoothly.

Is your shifter assembly loose?

[This message has been edited by Patrick (edited 01-04-2016).]

IP: Logged
robert1234
Member
Posts: 461
From: Knoxville TN
Registered: Oct 2015


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-04-2016 08:01 PM Click Here to See the Profile for robert1234Click Here to Email robert1234Send a Private Message to robert1234Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Shifter assembly is not loose, the car only has 78K on it.

IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 30221
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 443
Rate this member

Report this Post01-04-2016 08:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by robert1234:

Shifter assembly is not loose, the car only has 78K on it.


Well, that probably answers your third question then... as well as perhaps the second.

With my '88 Formula (same tranny as yours), the select cable is quite stiff and I should probably replace it, but the shifter cable is just fine.

[This message has been edited by Patrick (edited 01-04-2016).]

IP: Logged
robert1234
Member
Posts: 461
From: Knoxville TN
Registered: Oct 2015


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-04-2016 08:27 PM Click Here to See the Profile for robert1234Click Here to Email robert1234Send a Private Message to robert1234Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Ok, I'll replace the select cable then...thanks
IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 30221
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 443
Rate this member

Report this Post01-04-2016 08:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by robert1234:

Ok, I'll replace the select cable then...thanks


Sure... assuming that's the cable that you're having an issue with. It usually is, as you'll notice the way it comes up from the bottom on the tranny end and is practically begging for water to gain access into it which in turn ruins its ability to slide smoothly.

[This message has been edited by Patrick (edited 01-04-2016).]

IP: Logged
robert1234
Member
Posts: 461
From: Knoxville TN
Registered: Oct 2015


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-04-2016 10:16 PM Click Here to See the Profile for robert1234Click Here to Email robert1234Send a Private Message to robert1234Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Its the select cable. Its broken and not connected due to rust...yep, water / moisture damage.
IP: Logged
robert1234
Member
Posts: 461
From: Knoxville TN
Registered: Oct 2015


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-04-2016 10:17 PM Click Here to See the Profile for robert1234Click Here to Email robert1234Send a Private Message to robert1234Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

robert1234

461 posts
Member since Oct 2015
I ordered an new one from Rodney
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock