Pennock's Fiero Forum
  General Fiero Chat
  Recently got my uncles 1986 Fiero GT, I would like to increase its power

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Recently got my uncles 1986 Fiero GT, I would like to increase its power by Thoard
Started on: 12-07-2015 10:59 PM
Replies: 13 (343 views)
Last post by: Neils88 on 12-08-2015 05:23 PM
Thoard

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-07-2015 10:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ThoardSend a Private Message to ThoardEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I would like to put more horsepower into my car, but my uncle has told me that this V6 isn't the best for mods, that if I really wanted to increase the power it would be best to do an engine swap, because I'm still new to the car, I have no idea what my options are and which ones would be best for me, and I feel bad asking him everything all the time, maybe you guys can help? My uncle did suggest the 3800 sc swap
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
JohnWPB

Feedback score:    (21)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 144
Rate this member

Report this Post12-07-2015 11:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for JohnWPBClick Here to visit JohnWPB's HomePageSend a Private Message to JohnWPBEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Welcome to the forum! Yes, the 3800 is notably the easiest and more economical of the swaps available. From start to finish, it is not a cheap process however. Expect to pay around $4,000 as a bare minimum for everything you need to be able to get in, turn the key and drive it. That price is if you do most of the labor yourself.

Not trying to discourage you, just being upfront and honest. I am in the process myself right now

Have a LOOK HERE for some threads and more information on what all is involved.

sardonyx247

Feedback score:    (88)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 218
Rate this member