Pennock's Fiero Forum
  General Fiero Chat
  Fiero transmission - 4 speed vs 5 speed?

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Fiero transmission - 4 speed vs 5 speed? by MalleableList
Started on: 12-09-2013 11:58 PM
Replies: 35 (6025 views)
Last post by: rogergarrison on 12-18-2013 09:24 AM
MalleableList

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-09-2013 11:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for MalleableListSend a Private Message to MalleableListEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
So just curious since I have no experience as of yet with this car - in your opinion, which one would you pick if you had to choose between the two? the 4 speed or the 5 speed?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Patrick

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 458
Rate this member

Report this Post12-10-2013 12:39 AM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

I went through the trouble of swapping out a 4-spd for a 5-spd in my '84, so that should give you an idea of where I stand.
pontiackid86

Feedback score:    (12)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 344
Rate this member

Report this Post12-10-2013 12:45 AM Click Here to See the Profile for pontiackid86Send a Private Message to pontiackid86Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
For the V6... 4 speed is a ton more fun, Its a tight shift Gearing is pretty close and in my opinion the car is a lot quicker,

5 speed is more of a comfortable ride easy going good on gas Quick but not neck jerking quick,

I owned 2 5 speeds one was an 87 GT the other was an 88, great transmission but I bought my cars to have fun and the getrag just dose not do it for me