Started on: 07-07-2013 09:33 PM
Replies: 14 (620 views)
Last post by: rogergarrison on 07-11-2013 09:29 AM
BV MotorSports

Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 189
Rate this member

Report this Post07-07-2013 09:33 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BV MotorSportsSend a Private Message to BV MotorSportsEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
OK I have got to ask. Engines have been rebuilt for nearly 100yrs. I have rebuilt a few on my garage floor that lasted for years and I am not a pro. So why is the 3800 so special? Why does nearly everyone say to avoid a built engine and stick with a used motor? I just don't get it. Atleast with a rebuilt engine (from a quality shop) you know its condition. You just don't know with a 2nd hand or j-yard motor.

Please explain! Granted, I know that nothing lasts like OEM. I personally have not seen a rebuilt engine last 200-300k, but that's not what I am after anyway. I understand a built motor will never last if its abused or pushed too hard but then, so will an OEM engine.

Please explain it to me. Also, lets keep this clean & tactful. You should be able to get your point across without arguing. Nothing wrong with different opinions.

------------------
2009 G8 GT Kook's 1 3/4 LT's, Kooks catted Xpipe, Magnaflow axleback, Vararam CAI, HSRK, HPTuners, Atari gauges

1988 Fiero GT L67, PT67bb, w2a, F23, & more

1987 Fiero GT 3.4TDC Road Racer.

ƒ13r0'$ rµ£3

[This message has been edited by BV MotorSports (edited 07-07-2013).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
fieroguru

Feedback score:    (45)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 257
Rate this member

Report this Post07-07-2013 09:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fieroguruSend a Private Message to fieroguruEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post