1984 SE Restoration by Mylek
Started on: 12-30-2018 09:37 PM
Replies: 5 (1567 views)
Last post by: Patrick on 01-01-2019 12:55 AM
Mylek

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-30-2018 09:37 PM Click Here to See the Profile for MylekSend a Private Message to MylekEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

I have been working to get my '84 running properly so I can start driving it as a daily.
On my first 50 mile trip, the CEL came on intermittently. I also noticed that the exhaust smelled rich. So, I used the paperclip scanner an came up with 2 codes. First was code 42 - Electronic Spark; and second, was code 45 - Rich Exhaust.
First, I inspected the spark plug wires. I found the number 1 spark plug wire was loose and not making a solid connection
Next was the Rich Exhaust. I'm not a mechanic. I had to look up the causes of Rich Exhaust. The most common cause I found was a bad Coolant Temperature Sensor. So I replaced it.
Little did I know, the sensor connection had changed at some point. So I had to splice in a new connector to match the new sensor.
Following the replacement, I cleared the codes and went for a short drive. After getting home, I checked the codes again. 12s across the board. Raise the roof here folks!
Now, I'm on to the next issue. It seems to have a miss. This is where I ask the wonderful folks here on PFF for help. I don't have any codes. What could be causing this?
The symptoms are: almost stall after high rev. Hesitation when stepping on gas. Sounds like it has a miss when maintaining 2k to 3k rpms.

IP: Logged

Patrick

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 434
Rate this member

Report this Post12-30-2018 11:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Originally posted by Mylek: