Started on: 05-15-2011 06:52 PM
Replies: 7
Last post by: cliffw on 05-16-2011 09:26 AM
aceman

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 203
Rate this member

Report this Post05-15-2011 06:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for acemanSend a Private Message to acemanDirect Link to This Post
My step-son just called. He lives in a mobile home. He stated that the fuse box was extremely warm and when his girlfriend touched one of the breaker switches, it immediately tripped off. I have no background in electrical issues. Does he have a short going on in his main panel? Any ideas folks?

My suggestion to him was to unplug all his expensive electrical appliances and electronics and call an electrician/handyman to come out in the morning.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
avengador1

Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 571
Rate this member

Report this Post05-15-2011 06:56 PM Click Here to See the Profile for avengador1Send a Private Message to avengador1Direct Link to This Post
Heat means that there is a lot of resistance. This could be caused a by a bad/loose contact or something pulling a lot of load like a dead short. Definitely have an electrician check it out as it could start a fire.
aceman

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 203
Rate this member

Report this Post05-15-2011 07:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for acemanSend a Private Message to acemanDirect Link to This Post
His girlfriend said she noticed the burning smell after she started doing laundry. ( I don't know if it was while washing or drying.) She mentioned a few months ago that she was getting water through her dryer vent area. Is there possibly a connection?
weloveour86se

Feedback score:    (115)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 75
Rate this member

Report this Post05-15-2011 08:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for weloveour86seSend a Private Message to weloveour86seDirect Link to This Post