Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Totally O/T - Archive
  Would a simple script/batch file do this??

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


Would a simple script/batch file do this?? by Loki
Started on: 05-02-2011 05:37 PM
Replies: 17
Last post by: HI-TECH on 05-03-2011 01:21 AM
Loki
Member
Posts: 8453
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Mar 2000


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 138
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 05:37 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LokiClick Here to Email LokiSend a Private Message to LokiDirect Link to This Post
Scheduled temp file deletion at say 2am every day?

(C:\Windows\Temp)

------------------
Michael Geddie Photography

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Doug85GT
Member
Posts: 9261
From: Sacramento CA USA
Registered: May 2003


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 120
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 05:40 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Doug85GTSend a Private Message to Doug85GTDirect Link to This Post
Create a batch file with the command in it:

delete c:\Windows\Temp\*.*

Then go in your windows scheduler and schedule it to run at 2 AM every day. Be sure to have it run as an administrator or else it won't have access to the windows directory.
IP: Logged
FieroRumor
Member
Posts: 35007
From: New York
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 349
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 05:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FieroRumorClick Here to visit FieroRumor's HomePageClick Here to Email FieroRumorSend a Private Message to FieroRumorDirect Link to This Post
Just remember that some apps use the temp dir and if a user leaves stuff open, it may either delete a legit temp file or make the script get stickified...

Just a thought...
IP: Logged
Loki
Member
Posts: 8453
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Mar 2000


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 138
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 05:49 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LokiClick Here to Email LokiSend a Private Message to LokiDirect Link to This Post
Ill test it and see how this runs. Thanks
IP: Logged
8Ball
Member
Posts: 10865
From:
Registered: Jul 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 162
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 09:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 8BallClick Here to Email 8BallSend a Private Message to 8BallDirect Link to This Post
To really clean out the temps, I wrote this..

ECHO Deleting your Temp Files
ECHO Hold On
del /s /f /q %windir%\\temp
del /s /f /q %userprofile%\\local settings\\temp
del /s /f /q %userprofile%\\local settings\\temporary internet files\\
ECHO All Done!
ECHO You can close this window now!

Schedule this to run at a specific time or upon log off.

[This message has been edited by 8Ball (edited 05-02-2011).]

IP: Logged
Loki
Member
Posts: 8453
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Mar 2000


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 138
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 09:33 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LokiClick Here to Email LokiSend a Private Message to LokiDirect Link to This Post
What happens with scripts if it encounters a file thats "locked"?
IP: Logged
8Ball
Member
Posts: 10865
From:
Registered: Jul 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 162
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 09:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 8BallClick Here to Email 8BallSend a Private Message to 8BallDirect Link to This Post
The /f Forces it to delete.
The /Q Tells it to not ask, jsut do it.
The /S Tells it to also delete all sub directories and files.
IP: Logged
Loki
Member
Posts: 8453
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Mar 2000


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 138
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 09:42 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LokiClick Here to Email LokiSend a Private Message to LokiDirect Link to This Post
Ahhhhh... ok, I will give that a shot. And if i don't need it to say anything since it will be part of the log-off script i don't need any ECHO do I?
IP: Logged
8Ball
Member
Posts: 10865
From:
Registered: Jul 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 162
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 09:44 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 8BallClick Here to Email 8BallSend a Private Message to 8BallDirect Link to This Post
No the Echo is just there for my stupid users
Depending on where I deploy this, I have to explain very carefully to them what is happening.. or they call me at 3 am to complain/ask
IP: Logged
Loki
Member
Posts: 8453
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Mar 2000


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 138
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 09:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LokiClick Here to Email LokiSend a Private Message to LokiDirect Link to This Post
LOL!!
IP: Logged
Loki
Member
Posts: 8453
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Mar 2000


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 138
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 09:49 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LokiClick Here to Email LokiSend a Private Message to LokiDirect Link to This Post

Loki

8453 posts
Member since Mar 2000
BTW, I really hate XP 64bit
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
8Ball
Member
Posts: 10865
From:
Registered: Jul 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 162
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 09:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 8BallClick Here to Email 8BallSend a Private Message to 8BallDirect Link to This Post
Yea... XP 64 is ... Well a bit piss poor. If you MUST run 64 bit, get 7 64bit.
If you just HAVE to have a kernel close to the XP kernel timeline.. Get server 2003 64bit.
IP: Logged
Loki
Member
Posts: 8453
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Mar 2000


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 138
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 10:03 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LokiClick Here to Email LokiSend a Private Message to LokiDirect Link to This Post
I am working on getting some standards in place at my new job. Moving everyone over to Win 7 64bit. To many people have admin rights and and and and
IP: Logged
8Ball
Member
Posts: 10865
From:
Registered: Jul 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 162
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 10:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 8BallClick Here to Email 8BallSend a Private Message to 8BallDirect Link to This Post
Yea I hear ya!!

Apparently the last guy did that at my new job And we are controlled by SOX, so everything has to be documented and approved.
Never dealt with SOX before.... This should be a wild ride!!
IP: Logged
Loki
Member
Posts: 8453
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Mar 2000


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 138
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 10:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LokiClick Here to Email LokiSend a Private Message to LokiDirect Link to This Post
At least i got to get a quote on all new Optiplex 760's with quad cores and 8 gigs of ram with dual head video cards for everyone. Now lets see if they actually approve it. LOL!
IP: Logged
8Ball
Member
Posts: 10865
From:
Registered: Jul 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 162
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 10:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 8BallClick Here to Email 8BallSend a Private Message to 8BallDirect Link to This Post
LOL!!!
Yea I usually get my Dell guy to give me three quotes.
A STUPID insanely high spec'd rig..
A slightly less insane rig...
The one I actually want them to have.

Want to guess how many times I get my way?

IP: Logged
Loki
Member
Posts: 8453
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Mar 2000


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 138
Rate this member

Report this Post05-02-2011 10:27 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LokiClick Here to Email LokiSend a Private Message to LokiDirect Link to This Post
LOL!!! I'm gonna have to try that

[This message has been edited by Loki (edited 05-02-2011).]

IP: Logged
HI-TECH
Member
Posts: 1697
From: manteca, california
Registered: Jul 2005


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 123
Rate this member

Report this Post05-03-2011 01:21 AM Click Here to See the Profile for HI-TECHClick Here to visit HI-TECH's HomePageClick Here to Email HI-TECHSend a Private Message to HI-TECHDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by 8Ball:

LOL!!!
Yea I usually get my Dell guy to give me three quotes.
A STUPID insanely high spec'd rig..
A slightly less insane rig...
The one I actually want them to have.

Want to guess how many times I get my way?


i approve this post...
i do this all the time to customers who want a new computer built.. they ALL have the "computer friend" who has "suggested" what to get.. (usually the computer friend's dream machine). i price out the friends suggestion then price them a cheaper equivalent then price them what they actually need. 98% of the time i win lol.
IP: Logged



All times are ET (US)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock