Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Totally O/T - Archive
  So the virus didn't just hit me!!

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


So the virus didn't just hit me!! by fierofetish
Started on: 03-03-2011 04:52 PM
Replies: 15
Last post by: Rallaster on 03-04-2011 10:27 AM
fierofetish
Member
Posts: 19173
From: Northeast Spain
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 277
User Banned

Report this Post03-03-2011 04:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofetishClick Here to Email fierofetishSend a Private Message to fierofetishDirect Link to This Post
But mine was the worst apparently. Anywaay, Alex came down with his laptop, and says he can no longer get IE7 to connect to the internet. Nor Hotmail. But he can get his Outlook Express emails, but notning else. I took a look at the internet under 'internet Explorer won't work..' but I'm no clearer as to what might have happened? Oh...and his Avast says it can't open the system to scan.
I would like to help him, but if you experts say take it to a shop, I will suggest it. I did go to Internet options, and it had unticked 'automatically connect to...'.I re-clicked it, but it still doesn't work. Confused as to why the internet connection allows him to get his emails and WIndows Live Messenger, and yet not is browser or his Hotmail email
So I'm stuck now. What would have disabled IE AND his Avast? (red face there, because I recommended him to use it )
I know there have been a LOT of infections in this area just lately Can't think of why they would target this area: nothing important to attack round here

Advice please, if you can!
Thanks
Nick
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Loki
Member
Posts: 8453
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Mar 2000


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 138
Rate this member

Report this Post03-03-2011 04:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LokiClick Here to Email LokiSend a Private Message to LokiDirect Link to This Post
Tools > Internet options > Connections > lan settings > uncheck proxy

------------------
My Foto Site

[This message has been edited by Loki (edited 03-03-2011).]

IP: Logged
Pyrthian
Member
Posts: 29541
From: Detroit, MI
Registered: Jul 2002


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 341
Rate this member

Report this Post03-03-2011 04:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PyrthianClick Here to Email PyrthianSend a Private Message to PyrthianDirect Link to This Post
if it was the classic "FakeAV" virus - it changes a setting in internet explorer:
go to internet options (either thru control panel, or internet explorer/tools)
select the [connections] tab
at the bottom, select the "Lan Settings" button
then uncheck the "use proxy server...." check box
IP: Logged
Rallaster
Member
Posts: 9105
From: Indy southside, IN
Registered: Jul 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 84
Rate this member

Report this Post03-03-2011 04:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RallasterSend a Private Message to RallasterDirect Link to This Post
I wouldn't be embarrassed to say that you recommended Avast. My shop pushes the free version on every system that comes in unless the customer is paying for another AV software. I would recommend booting up into Safe Mode and running Avast there. Failing that, I would DL Malwarebytes or some other free AV/AS software on YOUR computer, boot the other computer into Safe mode and log in as administrator. Then transfer the install files via Flash drive, install and run them in safe mode as Admin.

Edit: Loki and Pyrthian have your "not connecting to the internet issue".

[This message has been edited by Rallaster (edited 03-03-2011).]

IP: Logged
fierofetish
Member
Posts: 19173
From: Northeast Spain
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 277
User Banned

Report this Post03-03-2011 05:09 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofetishClick Here to Email fierofetishSend a Private Message to fierofetishDirect Link to This Post
OK Thanks. But when I went to 'Internet Options, nothing was clicked. Not even the 'proxy' box
Rallaster...I'm afraid I don't know enough to do all that, so if it isn't a relatively easy fix, I'm not going to make it worse by stumbling about in the dark I know when I am not qualified enough to 'go where no computer illiterate has been before ' Would it help to erase and restore IE7? I know he had a recent Windows update (so did I, and now I am nervous about MINE), and he says it wanted to install Google Chrome...but it isn't there in the Control Panel..
Or should I install IE8 instead...or just leave well alone and recommend the shop? Poor kid, he's only 12, and it is his School issue computer.
Nick
IP: Logged
Rallaster
Member
Posts: 9105
From: Indy southside, IN
Registered: Jul 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 84
Rate this member

Report this Post03-03-2011 05:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RallasterSend a Private Message to RallasterDirect Link to This Post
What OS is it?

Alot easier than I can explain it, as I have a tendency to be long winded.. LOL
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/chsafe.htm

[This message has been edited by Rallaster (edited 03-03-2011).]

IP: Logged
Loki
Member
Posts: 8453
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Mar 2000


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 138
Rate this member

Report this Post03-03-2011 05:18 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LokiClick Here to Email LokiSend a Private Message to LokiDirect Link to This Post
School issue PC? Tell him to take it to them. Schools have some some sort of IT department if they give out laptops. They want him to use it, they should fix it.

Could also try simple things. Reboot into safe mode with networking. Remove all startup items via msconfig except the A/V. Clean out temp files. Use your PC to download Malwarebytes and use a thumb drive (or a burned CD if no thumb drive) and install on his laptop and run it (in safe mode)

[This message has been edited by Loki (edited 03-03-2011).]

IP: Logged
Rallaster
Member
Posts: 9105
From: Indy southside, IN
Registered: Jul 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 84
Rate this member

Report this Post03-03-2011 05:19 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RallasterSend a Private Message to RallasterDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Loki:

School issue PC? Tell him to take it to them. Schools have some some sort of IT department if they give out laptops. They want him to use it, they should fix it.


I missed the school part. But, yeah. If it's a school issued PC, they should be able to fix it.
IP: Logged
Ramsespride
Member
Posts: 1979
From: Where i am is where i am.
Registered: Feb 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 100
Rate this member

Report this Post03-03-2011 05:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RamsesprideSend a Private Message to RamsesprideDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Rallaster:


I missed the school part. But, yeah. If it's a school issued PC, they should be able to fix it.


There is some gray area there though. We had the option of getting a laptop in my German class to help with the homework and if anything happened to it via internet usage then we were responsible for fixing it. I declined one based on my being possibly even more computer illiterate than Nick, I think you know that
IP: Logged
fierofetish
Member
Posts: 19173
From: Northeast Spain
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 277
User Banned

Report this Post03-03-2011 05:57 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofetishClick Here to Email fierofetishSend a Private Message to fierofetishDirect Link to This Post
Yeah...this is a village school, with 12 pupils. I am willing to bet they don't have a computer expert in-school.
I'm going to leave well alone. I tried running Avast in safe mode...same result...could not open the system to scan it. And yet, in normal mode the icon is there, revolves, and when I right click the icon, it says Avast is working and full protection is in place. And yet it won't perform a scan on ANYTHING.
I've run my Avast on my laptop, and it works ok, so I don't want to risk getting mine infected by connecting it to his. Probably impossible....but I am kinda paranoid after the last 2 weeks or so

Nick

[This message has been edited by fierofetish (edited 03-03-2011).]

IP: Logged
fierofetish
Member
Posts: 19173
From: Northeast Spain
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 277
User Banned

Report this Post03-03-2011 06:44 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofetishClick Here to Email fierofetishSend a Private Message to fierofetishDirect Link to This Post
So...just had an interesting thought...I don't think these children are allowed internet access without supervision....could it be that the Teacher has some kind of Admin power to stop internet access whilst not at school? Having thought about it, and the chances are that might be the case, I have decided not to do anything to it, and tell him to ask his teacher
Nick
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Loki
Member
Posts: 8453
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Mar 2000


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 138
Rate this member

Report this Post03-03-2011 07:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LokiClick Here to Email LokiSend a Private Message to LokiDirect Link to This Post
12 students and they get laptops? Holy crap!!
IP: Logged
fierofetish
Member
Posts: 19173
From: Northeast Spain
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 277
User Banned

Report this Post03-03-2011 07:27 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofetishClick Here to Email fierofetishSend a Private Message to fierofetishDirect Link to This Post
Ain't you heard, Loki? Spain is a SOCIALIST GOVERNMENT -led Country....
Nick
IP: Logged
Jonesy
Member
Posts: 4446
From: Bama
Registered: Oct 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 103
Rate this member

Report this Post03-03-2011 08:06 PM Click Here to See the Profile for JonesySend a Private Message to JonesyDirect Link to This Post
your symptoms sound alot like one of those fake anti virus programs that are going around.. Which are such a pain in the arse, because they dont really do any damage, they just change a bunch of your settings and prevent you from using your computer.. Iv had good success with Malwarebytes for removing such things from peoples systems, and our systems at work. Id try the flash drive idea. You might want too even install malwarebytes onto the flash drive, and just run it from there on the infected computer..

Good luck, those things can be a pain in the arse to remove.

And stop watching those "women vs horse" pr0n movies.. They are bad for both you, and your computer.. lol.. j/k.

[This message has been edited by Jonesy (edited 03-03-2011).]

IP: Logged
fierofetish
Member
Posts: 19173
From: Northeast Spain
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 277
User Banned

Report this Post03-03-2011 10:48 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofetishClick Here to Email fierofetishSend a Private Message to fierofetishDirect Link to This Post
Bit the bullet Copied everything onto cd's (hardly anything, because he has only had it 2 weeks or so , formatted and reinstalled Windows XP Home (same as the original OS). Installed Avast and Malwarebytes from a cd I downloaded them to, on mine, before I let it connect to my router,ran it, and it is perfect now. Phew!! 3+ hours...but it is done
A little more geekiness in the Cann household
Nick

[This message has been edited by fierofetish (edited 03-03-2011).]

IP: Logged
Rallaster
Member
Posts: 9105
From: Indy southside, IN
Registered: Jul 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 84
Rate this member

Report this Post03-04-2011 10:27 AM Click Here to See the Profile for RallasterSend a Private Message to RallasterDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by fierofetish:

Bit the bullet Copied everything onto cd's (hardly anything, because he has only had it 2 weeks or so , formatted and reinstalled Windows XP Home (same as the original OS). Installed Avast and Malwarebytes from a cd I downloaded them to, on mine, before I let it connect to my router,ran it, and it is perfect now. Phew!! 3+ hours...but it is done
A little more geekiness in the Cann household
Nick





Not quite the way I would have went, but it works for you and you got the job done. Kudos for stepping outside your comfort zone.
IP: Logged



All times are ET (US)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock