Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Totally O/T - Archive
  Replacing "bubble" plastic skylight with glass Velux one?

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

Replacing "bubble" plastic skylight with glass Velux one? by ryan.hess
Started on: 02-25-2011 11:11 PM
Replies: 12
Last post by: ryan.hess on 02-26-2011 10:10 PM
ryan.hess

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 319
Rate this member

Report this Post02-25-2011 11:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ryan.hessSend a Private Message to ryan.hessDirect Link to This Post
Has anyone replaced the cheap-o plastic skylights with a glass one? Any "gotchas" to be aware of? I've never done any roof work before, so it's making me a little apprehensive, but it seems fairly straightforward.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Marko

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-25-2011 11:43 PM Click Here to See the Profile for MarkoSend a Private Message to MarkoDirect Link to This Post
Velux is a good brand.
Made in Denmark.

Are you taking out a fairly standard size bubble type (like 2x4 foot) and replacing it with an equivalent size Velux?

Do you have to change any mounting types, say curb mount to flat mount?

Just make sure to seal everything very well, to prevent leaks.

Do you live in a region that gets a lot of hail?
If so, make sure you get the optional laminated glass.
Keeps them from exploding on top of you.
joesfiero

Feedback score:    (11)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-26-2011 12:17 AM Click Here to See the Profile for joesfieroSend a Private Message to joesfieroDirect Link to This Post