Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Totally O/T - Archive
  Need URGENT help w/ Linux CD/DVD Burning!

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

Need URGENT help w/ Linux CD/DVD Burning! by FieroGT42
Started on: 12-19-2006 02:00 PM
Replies: 5
Last post by: tutnkmn on 12-19-2006 05:51 PM
FieroGT42

Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 67
Rate this member

Report this Post12-19-2006 02:00 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FieroGT42Send a Private Message to FieroGT42Direct Link to This Post
Ok,I'm a PC tech, programmer, and IT Systems Analyst all in one with Linux experience to boot, but I've never had to burn CDs/DVDs with Linux before. The family's main HDD is acting like it's giving up the ghost, sometimes booting and sometimes "System boot disk error". It works sometimes with this Knoppix boot disc, and still not at all when trying to boot the resident Win XP...

My question is what can I use to burn DVDs to make about 200GB of crap? Specifically, what is available on Knoppix? I'm looking, but I don't see anything yet. It's a recent version, but apparently before the release of FireFox 2.0. It's pretty important because this drive has several years of family photos, scans of generations-old slides that may now be lost or damaged, genealogy records, etc. Yeah, I know it should have all been backed up before, but they said "no wait, let us sort through it first".... Never again will Iet anyone tell me that Thanks -Jason
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Pyrthian

Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 342
Rate this member

Report this Post12-19-2006 02:17 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PyrthianSend a Private Message to PyrthianDirect Link to This Post
200G?! wow - thats ALOT
and, thats ALOT of burning.
I would say get the replacement drive (I assume you will be getting one?) , and do a disk image, or a direct copy, depending on what the future PC will be doing