Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Totally O/T - Archive
  Re-format on an HP/win XP ?

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


Re-format on an HP/win XP ? by under8ted
Started on: 10-13-2006 06:44 PM
Replies: 6
Last post by: Nurb432 on 10-14-2006 11:12 AM
under8ted
Member
Posts: 1108
From: Sparta, ON, Canada
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 184
User Banned

Report this Post10-13-2006 06:44 PM Click Here to See the Profile for under8tedClick Here to Email under8tedSend a Private Message to under8tedDirect Link to This Post
This piece of junk didnt come with a CD, instead it has the O/S behind a partiion on virtual drive D: Its a piece of jgarbage and XP sucks, but.....the wife likes it so I tollerate it.

What I NEED to do is go in, drop the partion, format the whole damn thing and start from scratch like I do in 98......but since I dont have XP on CD (thanks, HP--asswipes) thats pretty much impossible.

The way this thing is acting,and some of the sites the kid has gone to (lop-dot-com ring a bell ?) I have a pretty good idea that the garbageware is imbeded into the D: drive, so it just re-installs itself along with a restore.

Anybody know a way around to problem?--or should I just open the front door and heave this thing into the middle of the road ? (dont laugh, I've done it before when I run out of patience with a computer)

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
htexans1
Member
Posts: 9064
From: Clear Lake City/Houston TX
Registered: Sep 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 118
Rate this member

Report this Post10-13-2006 07:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for htexans1Click Here to Email htexans1Send a Private Message to htexans1Direct Link to This Post
Any XP install CD will wipe and create partitions. Hell, I have even used DELL install disks on HP equipment. Of course I had to install drivers, but windows installed and worked.

S. Williams

------------------
1988 Fiero Formula T-tops
CJB 143 of 1252 "factory T-top cars"

IP: Logged
under8ted
Member
Posts: 1108
From: Sparta, ON, Canada
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 184
User Banned

Report this Post10-13-2006 08:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for under8tedClick Here to Email under8tedSend a Private Message to under8tedDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by htexans1:

Any XP install CD will wipe and create partitions. Hell, I have even used DELL install disks on HP equipment. Of course I had to install drivers, but windows installed and worked.

S. Williams

Know a torrent where XP can be gotten?




IP: Logged
FieroRumor
Member
Posts: 35007
From: New York
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 349
Rate this member

Report this Post10-13-2006 08:08 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FieroRumorClick Here to visit FieroRumor's HomePageClick Here to Email FieroRumorSend a Private Message to FieroRumorDirect Link to This Post
It's quite possible that the D drive is ok.

I would go that route before ya format everything...

I agree that not having the CD is frustrating (especially if the HDD fails) , but when I HAVE used the restore partitions, the re-install was pretty quick, and the PC was "clean".
I would recommend NOT having it connected to the internet till you are done, and then visit Windows update.

If you are behind a router, that would be a good thing.

IP: Logged
tutnkmn
Member
Posts: 3422
From: York, England, U.K. Living in Ohio
Registered: May 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 65
Rate this member

Report this Post10-13-2006 08:27 PM Click Here to See the Profile for tutnkmnClick Here to Email tutnkmnSend a Private Message to tutnkmnDirect Link to This Post
I agree with FieroRumor. Reinstall from the D drive should be OK.

It's not HP's fault there is no Windows CD anymore. Hardly any OEM gives these. Microsoft maintains this rule to prevent piracy of Windows. That or, M$ believes their software is so good it would never need reinstalled. Remember, you don't actually OWN the Windows OS on your machine, you just license it

Just wait until the "Not Genuine" bugs start in Vista.

[This message has been edited by tutnkmn (edited 10-13-2006).]

IP: Logged
Red88FF
Member
Posts: 7793
From: PNW
Registered: Jan 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 130
Rate this member

Report this Post10-13-2006 08:50 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Red88FFSend a Private Message to Red88FFDirect Link to This Post
You should back the operating system out of the machine on to CD's. Should be a restore shortcut in the menu to do that. That is what I did.
IP: Logged
Nurb432
Member
Posts: 33616
From:
Registered: May 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 224
Rate this member

Report this Post10-14-2006 11:12 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Nurb432Send a Private Message to Nurb432Direct Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by htexans1:

Any XP install CD will wipe and create partitions. Hell, I have even used DELL install disks on HP equipment. Of course I had to install drivers, but windows installed and worked.

S. Williams


Even a dos disk made from a working XP install would do it.
IP: Logged



All times are ET (US)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock