Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Totally O/T - Archive
  Electronic monitor/tv experts..help please!!

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


Electronic monitor/tv experts..help please!! by fierofetish
Started on: 09-04-2006 01:07 AM
Replies: 7
Last post by: fierofetish on 09-06-2006 04:47 PM
fierofetish
Member
Posts: 19173
From: Northeast Spain
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 277
User Banned

Report this Post09-04-2006 01:07 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofetishClick Here to Email fierofetishSend a Private Message to fierofetishDirect Link to This Post
I have a Hyundai TFT flatscreen monitor/tv, which is about 2 years old. Just recently, the remote seemed to not work consistently..had to turn it on manually, although once on, all the other functions on the control worked.The, when I did turn it on manually, it took a while to light up..only to have a weird 'mist' on the screen, which quickly faded to a plain silver, and the controls didn't work anymore. The only way to get it to come on, was to keep plugging it in and out at the mains supply .It takes longer and longer to get it to work now, and I noticed that the pilot light in the front had only half lit up .I know, take it to a repair shop...but you don't know what they are LIKE over here in Spain!! Anyway, I like to repair things myself, if at all possible...I tend to think a capacitor on the 'igniter' circuit has mainly broken down, but can still be shocked into working.Any ideas? I thought of blanket soldering, but don't think it is a dry joint, but may be wrong.
Second part of question..Because I use it as a monitor for my Karaoke, I need to find a solution quickly. And so, I bought an 'S'video connector, which is a socket on a scart plug.However, when I connect it to my normal portable tv, it only shows up in black and white.Is this normal, when an older tv doesn't have an 'S' video port, and relies on an adapter??
Thanks for any and all offerings!!
Nick

------------------
fierofetish.PFF'S self-confessed Snowbird!!

Growing old is harder than growing up.
Responsibility: the solution for our World's Dilemmas..
Yahoo messenger:nickcannspain
MSN Messenger-nicholascann@hotmail.com

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
mountainman
Member
Posts: 400
From: Helena, Montana
Registered: Mar 2002


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-04-2006 09:03 PM Click Here to See the Profile for mountainmanSend a Private Message to mountainmanDirect Link to This Post
S video is sent out as seperate luma and chroma. color is seperate signal from the black and white (luma) signal. You might be able to find an adapter that will recombine them. does your old (bad) monitor have a video pass thru? If it does, you might try routing through the bad monitor to your stand in monitor.. just an idea.
John M.
IP: Logged
fierofetish
Member
Posts: 19173
From: Northeast Spain
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 277
User Banned

Report this Post09-04-2006 09:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofetishClick Here to Email fierofetishSend a Private Message to fierofetishDirect Link to This Post
Thanks John!! No the bad monitor doesn't have a video pass.Anyway, today I went to try to get it repaired, and nobody wanted to touch it...apparently, Hyundai TV has gone bust?, and parts are hard to find.They don't trace and repair the faulty component..they just replace the whole pcb.This means that a 2 cent capacitor will be replaced with a new pcb costing around 40 euros(!!!)..plus 24.50 per hour to repair it..not worth it .Why?because I picked up a brand new flatscreen, 19 inch monitor/tv for 250 euros..with 2 year unconditional guarantee..extendable for another 5 years for a very small fee.I am going to have a look at the old monitor myself..might get lucky Because the screen lights up, I tend to think the startup for the rest of the system is the problem..hence the pilot light only half lighting up.
Nick

------------------
fierofetish.PFF'S self-confessed Snowbird!!

Growing old is harder than growing up.
Responsibility: the solution for our World's Dilemmas..
Yahoo messenger:nickcannspain
MSN Messenger-nicholascann@hotmail.com

[This message has been edited by fierofetish (edited 09-04-2006).]

IP: Logged
DtheC
Member
Posts: 3395
From: Newton Iowa, USA
Registered: Sep 2005


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 60
Rate this member

Report this Post09-04-2006 09:40 PM Click Here to See the Profile for DtheCClick Here to Email DtheCSend a Private Message to DtheCDirect Link to This Post
Good luck Nick, sometimes I'll open something and find something so blatently bad that you have to wonder if the QA wasn't done on a Monday morning or Friday afternoon. I used to work in field Geophysical Surveys, we had to fix our gear in the field so you pretty much had to know everything about your electronics. Now everything is just spare cards.

------------------
Ol' Paint, 88 Base coupe auto.
Turning white on top, like owner.
Leaks a little, like owner.
Doesn't smoke, unlike owner

IP: Logged
fierofetish
Member
Posts: 19173
From: Northeast Spain
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 277
User Banned

Report this Post09-05-2006 09:32 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofetishClick Here to Email fierofetishSend a Private Message to fierofetishDirect Link to This Post
Well, I took it apart, and found a loose screw rolling around in the pedestal section.Replaced it.Went on to look at the board with the switches on, and couldn't find any dry joints (GET DOWN, BOONIE ). Couldn't get the screen free, and running out of time, I put it all back together, plugged it in, and it eventually came on.In the thirty seconds or so, before the pilot light came on, and the picture appeared, I noticed the screen was very faintly pulsing (light/dark sequence, but very very faint).I still think that there is some kind of component which is breaking down, probably some kind of capacitor which causes the system to strike, as in a fluorescent tube light.I don't have the capability to look for it, and so I am just leaving it on all the time !! It still strikes me as strange that the remote can turn the tv off, but not on . Strange
Nick

[This message has been edited by fierofetish (edited 09-05-2006).]

IP: Logged
rogergarrison
Member
Posts: 49593
From: A Western Caribbean Island/ Columbus, Ohio
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 552
Rate this member

Report this Post09-06-2006 09:25 AM Click Here to See the Profile for rogergarrisonClick Here to Email rogergarrisonSend a Private Message to rogergarrisonDirect Link to This Post
Components are so cheap these days on all electronics, most places never fix anything. They just pitch it and send you a new one. Labor cost is higher than the unit. I just had a minor issue with my Fuji camera ( $700). They just gave me a new one, rather than even look at it. Even told me to keep the bad one thats less than a year old.

[This message has been edited by rogergarrison (edited 09-06-2006).]

IP: Logged
FieroRumor
Member
Posts: 35007
From: New York
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 349
Rate this member

Report this Post09-06-2006 09:32 AM Click Here to See the Profile for FieroRumorClick Here to visit FieroRumor's HomePageClick Here to Email FieroRumorSend a Private Message to FieroRumorDirect Link to This Post
Not sure if you know this, but BE CAREFUL when you tinker inside of TVS! I always discharge the caps before playin' around...

What is the "pilot light"? a light bulb?

If you have the time, perhaps you can go through the board, and test each component, making sure it is the proper rating?

There are also a few pots (potentiometers) That you can adjust. most are for color saturation, but there may be one ("Flyback" transformer?) that you can adjust which might be set too low.*
Black plastic lookin' thing.

*Don't just turn 'em "and see what happens", I believe the flyback may POP if ya turn it too high. (May not damage it, though... I have no idea)

maybe someone else on here is moresavvy with this stuff, or perhaps you can find out on a TV or electronics forum
IEEE?


Adjust the stuff using a plastic screwdriver or a screwdriver that's got an insulated shaft... and don't stick your tongue to that wire going into the topof the tube. It might sting a little...

[This message has been edited by FieroRumor (edited 09-06-2006).]

IP: Logged
fierofetish
Member
Posts: 19173
From: Northeast Spain
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 277
User Banned

Report this Post09-06-2006 04:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofetishClick Here to Email fierofetishSend a Private Message to fierofetishDirect Link to This Post
Thanks FR...but this is a TFT screen monitor/tv, not the old kind with a tube
http://www.hyundaiq.com/pro_img_l17t.asp
Nick
IP: Logged



All times are ET (US)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock