Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Totally O/T - Archive
  Who has exp. with touchscreens?

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


Who has exp. with touchscreens? by ejayerik
Started on: 03-26-2002 04:26 AM
Replies: 5
Last post by: fieronv on 03-27-2002 11:38 AM
ejayerik
Member
Posts: 645
From: Camarillo, Ca. USA
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-26-2002 04:26 AM Click Here to See the Profile for ejayerikSend a Private Message to ejayerikDirect Link to This Post
Heres the deal. I'll make it short. I have a Datalux LVM10 touchscreen lcd and the drivers won't work. I have the newest drivers, it is a ps/2 connection, but it won't recognize the hardware. Companys involved are 3M for the touchscreen driver (Microtouch T5 V.5.63). The monitor is a Datalux .INF file which works fine. If any of you can help, I'll go into more detail. Thanks
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Joe Torma
Member
Posts: 3485
From: Hillsborough, NJ USA
Registered: Jul 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 129
Rate this member

Report this Post03-26-2002 12:28 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Joe TormaClick Here to visit Joe Torma's HomePageClick Here to Email Joe TormaSend a Private Message to Joe TormaDirect Link to This Post
I have a touchscreen for my in-car computer.
Its an ELO on a Sharp screen. I tried it on an old computer(win95) and it just didn't work. When I put it on a newer computer(win98) it worked right off the bat. I don't know why id didn't work, and I'm not an expert with them. All my components are raw, so I see there are jumpers there. I didn't have to mess with them though. More info?

------------------

Visit www.purplefiero.com for Show Dates and Fiero Decals and Stuff!

IP: Logged
JSocha
Member
Posts: 3522
From: Felton, MN, USA
Registered: Apr 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-26-2002 12:30 PM Click Here to See the Profile for JSochaSend a Private Message to JSochaDirect Link to This Post
We have touch screen (ELO with ELO software and drivers) monitors on our three plasma workstations out in the factory.

Maybe I can help.

------------------

"The PRE10DR"

IP: Logged
ejayerik
Member
Posts: 645
From: Camarillo, Ca. USA
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-26-2002 07:05 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ejayerikSend a Private Message to ejayerikDirect Link to This Post
perhaps, The newest driver looks for the assigned com port but it doesn't seem to be able to find it. The manual says to make sure IRQ12 isn't being used. I looked, and my original mouse driver is gone and the IRQ isn't being used.
I have tried on Win ME and Win 98 with no success.
IP: Logged
Cooter
Member
Posts: 6325
From: Alabama, USA
Registered: Jun 99


Feedback score:    (11)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 138
Rate this member

Report this Post03-27-2002 12:19 AM Click Here to See the Profile for CooterSend a Private Message to CooterDirect Link to This Post
I installed one several months ago and it would not work on the ps2 port- It needed an adapter to use the serial port B and has been fine ever since. Seems like it took changing some features in the BIOS too but I can't remember exactly- too long ago
IP: Logged
fieronv
Member
Posts: 270
From: Sparks,NV,USA
Registered: Jul 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-27-2002 11:38 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fieronvClick Here to Email fieronvSend a Private Message to fieronvDirect Link to This Post
Ok here we go, its been a couple of years since I worked on a microtouch. In your com port settings check the buad rate it should be set to 9600 or 19200 also check to parity you should see something like this 0,8,n,1. Also check in your hardware settings to make sure that nothing else is conflicting with the com port (very important) this can be a little tricky but double check your modems properties. Go to 3m's site and download a program called microcal it is a DOS based program that will at least let you know that the hardware is running it will not work under windows so make sure that you start it from a DOS window. It has been my experience that the Microtouch serial adapters fail at a high rate due to heat problems. They may have fixed the problem but they did have good tech support. I hope that this helps you.
Don

------------------

85GT (twoloud)

IP: Logged



All times are ET (US)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock