Pennock's Fiero Forum
  General Fiero Chat - Archive
  A word of CAUTION When replacing Window Motors! ! ! (And a lesson learned!)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

A word of CAUTION When replacing Window Motors! ! ! (And a lesson learned!) by JohnWPB
Started on: 01-30-2012 12:29 AM
Replies: 17
Last post by: pontiackid86 on 02-02-2012 04:24 AM
JohnWPB

Feedback score:    (21)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 144
Rate this member

Report this Post01-30-2012 12:29 AM Click Here to See the Profile for JohnWPBClick Here to visit JohnWPB's HomePageSend a Private Message to JohnWPBDirect Link to This Post
DISCLAIMER: Not good reading for the squeamish ones out there!

I am in the process of putting new door glass in my Fiero, and the regulators / tracks are really rusted and in bad shape. I decided to take it all out, grind, sand and give a fresh coat of paint and clean & grease everything up. I have never done this before, so live and learn!

I drilled out the rivets holding the pancake motor onto the regulator. As I picked up the regulator, and began to pry off the motor, that's when W H A M ! ! The large spring on the back of the regulator swung the regulator closed like a guillotine!

I stood there and thought interesting, and then tried to move my hand and instantly realized that my thumb was caught, and the pain started to set in. It was like slamming my finger in a car door. I tried to turn the mechanism to release my thumb, and the spring just clamped down tighter! Luckily my roommate was home, and I decided to run inside and ask for help.