Pennock's Fiero Forum
  General Fiero Chat - Archive
  Scan tool?

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


Scan tool? by ckrummy
Started on: 04-28-2010 02:16 AM
Replies: 11
Last post by: Fieroseverywhere on 04-30-2010 10:15 AM
ckrummy
Member
Posts: 517
From: Lexington, KY
Registered: Oct 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2010 02:16 AM Click Here to See the Profile for ckrummySend a Private Message to ckrummyDirect Link to This Post
Hey can i use this to scan for KR in my l67 swap
http://www.scantool.net/sca...c-based/obdlink.html
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
87antuzzi
Member
Posts: 11151
From: Surrounded by corn.
Registered: Feb 2009


Feedback score:    (9)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 227
Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2010 02:20 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 87antuzziClick Here to Email 87antuzziSend a Private Message to 87antuzziDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by ckrummy:

Hey can i use this to scan for KR in my l67 swap
http://www.scantool.net/sca...c-based/obdlink.html


obdII l67?
IP: Logged
ckrummy
Member
Posts: 517
From: Lexington, KY
Registered: Oct 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2010 03:28 AM Click Here to See the Profile for ckrummySend a Private Message to ckrummyDirect Link to This Post
Yeah Obd II out of a 98 Grand Prix
IP: Logged
Fieroseverywhere
Member
Posts: 4242
From: Gresham, Oregon USA
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score:    (14)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 89
Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2010 02:21 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FieroseverywhereClick Here to Email FieroseverywhereSend a Private Message to FieroseverywhereDirect Link to This Post
Yes. Or you could buy a real OBD2 scanner for about the same price...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymot...5fAutomotiveQ5fTools

They also work on OBD1 and are upgradeable to CAN+. Best of luck either way.

[This message has been edited by Fieroseverywhere (edited 04-28-2010).]

IP: Logged
87antuzzi
Member
Posts: 11151
From: Surrounded by corn.
Registered: Feb 2009


Feedback score:    (9)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 227
Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2010 04:18 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 87antuzziClick Here to Email 87antuzziSend a Private Message to 87antuzziDirect Link to This Post
I have a obdI and obdII reader you can borrow if you want.
IP: Logged
Raydar
Member
Posts: 38424
From: Carrollton GA. Out in the... country.
Registered: Oct 1999


Feedback score:    (11)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 451
Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2010 05:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RaydarClick Here to Email RaydarSend a Private Message to RaydarDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Fieroseverywhere:

Yes. Or you could buy a real OBD2 scanner for about the same price...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymot...5fAutomotiveQ5fTools

They also work on OBD1 and are upgradeable to CAN+. Best of luck either way.



That's an *awesome* price!
I have a 6000 (similar to that, but also does OBD1.)
I won't even tell you what that sucker cost.
IP: Logged
ckrummy
Member
Posts: 517
From: Lexington, KY
Registered: Oct 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2010 11:48 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ckrummySend a Private Message to ckrummyDirect Link to This Post
I'm only worried about knock retard i already have a scanner that does codes but i need to know about knock retard for future pulley upgrades.
IP: Logged
Fieroseverywhere
Member
Posts: 4242
From: Gresham, Oregon USA
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score:    (14)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 89
Rate this member

Report this Post04-29-2010 09:38 AM Click Here to See the Profile for FieroseverywhereClick Here to Email FieroseverywhereSend a Private Message to FieroseverywhereDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Raydar:


That's an *awesome* price!
I have a 6000 (similar to that, but also does OBD1.)
I won't even tell you what that sucker cost.


I have the 3000 which is no longer available. Paid 90 dollars delivered and it came will all the extra cables and update disc (GM, Ford, Chrysler, toyota, and generic OBD2 cables). The 3000 is setup to do OBD1 only originally which is what makes it less expensive. Of course you can always download the software to upgrade to OBD2, CAN, ect for $50 each or all for $150. Have you ever updated yours online? When I did mine I went from software version 1.9 to 4.6. Got some good added features out of it.

3k, 4k, 5k, & 6k are all identical. The only differences are the face plates and what software they come with. According to what I've read at least. Great scanners for the money IMO.
IP: Logged
Fieroseverywhere
Member
Posts: 4242
From: Gresham, Oregon USA
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score:    (14)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 89
Rate this member

Report this Post04-29-2010 09:45 AM Click Here to See the Profile for FieroseverywhereClick Here to Email FieroseverywhereSend a Private Message to FieroseverywhereDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by ckrummy:

I'm only worried about knock retard i already have a scanner that does codes but i need to know about knock retard for future pulley upgrades.


So what exactly do you need it to do? Real time monitoring? Data logging? Code readers and scanners are completely different from eachother. Most scanners have code reading ability but that is not their main function. Code readers only read/clear codes and basically nothing else. Thats why they are way less.

FYI I can hook my auto-x-ray directly to a laptop and get display readouts and graph also. Same as the PC only software does. But you need an added disc (PC link or something like that) which mine came with. I have no doubt the setup you posted will work. Just may not be a versitile for the money.
IP: Logged
ckrummy
Member
Posts: 517
From: Lexington, KY
Registered: Oct 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-29-2010 12:20 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ckrummySend a Private Message to ckrummyDirect Link to This Post
I'm going to be running 3800 supercharged. The computer on the 3800 have knock sensors to detect spark knock, if the computer picks up a knock it retards the timing, also known as knock retard. To safely add boost to a 3800 i must keep the knock retard numbers down or else i will chip a piston. A scan guage cost $250 but i know it will show knock retard, i want to find something cheaper
IP: Logged
Raydar
Member
Posts: 38424
From: Carrollton GA. Out in the... country.
Registered: Oct 1999


Feedback score:    (11)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 451
Rate this member

Report this Post04-29-2010 06:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RaydarClick Here to Email RaydarSend a Private Message to RaydarDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Fieroseverywhere:
...
FYI I can hook my auto-x-ray directly to a laptop and get display readouts and graph also...


In real time?
I thought all it would do was display saved datalogs.

I've got PC link, but I haven't used it.

[This message has been edited by Raydar (edited 04-29-2010).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Fieroseverywhere
Member
Posts: 4242
From: Gresham, Oregon USA
Registered: Mar 2006


Feedback score:    (14)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 89
Rate this member

Report this Post04-30-2010 10:15 AM Click Here to See the Profile for FieroseverywhereClick Here to Email FieroseverywhereSend a Private Message to FieroseverywhereDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Raydar:


In real time?
I thought all it would do was display saved datalogs.

I've got PC link, but I haven't used it.



Scan in real time. Displays datalogs on the PC. I don't know if you can monitor in real time directly to the PC on not. My laptop broke several years ago so I've never tried. I used the PC software once. Looked at the data. Made a graph. Whatever. The scanner alone does everything I need. While I think its neat its really not that useful to me.

[This message has been edited by Fieroseverywhere (edited 04-30-2010).]

IP: Logged



All times are ET (US)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock