Started on: 01-28-2008 05:28 PM
Replies: 22
Last post by: Winkie on 01-31-2008 09:34 PM
Mr.PBody

Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 101
Rate this member

Report this Post01-28-2008 05:28 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Mr.PBodyClick Here to visit Mr.PBody's HomePageSend a Private Message to Mr.PBodyDirect Link to This Post
I recently picked up an 87 Coupe. I want to do some minor bodywork. I want to shave the PONTIAC off the headlight door, I removed the rear PONTIAC badge so now there are 3 holes, and I want to removed the front emblem. Can I use simple autozone body filler for minor stuff like this? Or should I glass? The roof had a tree fall on it, so it bent and chipped a little, when I pop it back can I use body filler to fix it? If not, what can I use, how should I do it, etc. etc. I am new to bodywork but I want to mack out this 87 and I want to start here.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Winkie

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-28-2008 05:51 PM Click Here to See the Profile for WinkieClick Here to visit Winkie's HomePageSend a Private Message to WinkieDirect Link to This Post
For taking the pontiac off the headlight door you may want to try sanding the clearcoat off of it then take some smc panel adhesive and fill it in. For the holes after removing the badges you will need a 3M product. The bumpers are obviously not fiberglass so panel adhesive won't adhere very well. The panel Adhesive that I used was ever coat smc fiberglass panel adhesive. It also has a 3 on it in a square, to help you identify it. The 3M stuff is a two part epoxy. I can't remember what its called but I can get it for you later. For sanding, You can take it down with a power sander but do the final sanding by hand. Use something like 220 grit maybe even a little grittier. For the nicks you can use the same stuff but use the panel adhesive on the fiberglass and the 3M stuff on the plastic.

Ryan