Started on: 09-05-2001 01:57 PM
Replies: 42
Last post by: MinnGreenGT on 10-12-2001 09:55 AM
MinnGreenGT

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 274
Rate this member

Report this Post09-05-2001 01:57 PM Click Here to See the Profile for MinnGreenGTClick Here to visit MinnGreenGT's HomePageSend a Private Message to MinnGreenGTDirect Link to This Post
This is another project I've been working for awhile. So far, the only thing I've had to pay for was the ink in my printer. The rest was all free samples.

A Little background: I'm a graphic designer/digital printer for a portable tradeshow display company- as well as just starting a new Graphics/Wide-format company. This basically gives me access to a few medias that most people wouldn't think of. I have seen the white-face gauge conversions as well as backlight-white faces, and even on ebay a "REAL" indiglo gauge set. Well, import drivers have easy access to these types of things- but not us.

So I've used only 2 different materials: "Trans-White" backlite film (usualy used in light-boxes like you see at the airport or tradeshow), and 3M "Optically Clear Adhesive" which is commonly used in automotive gauge applications as well as layering digital components like touch-screen displays for your palm pilot. I used the optically clear because it is rated at 98+% light transmission- this is the expensive stuff. I don't know exact costs on these materials, being they were all samples from business associates- sorry.

I started by front printing the white (outer) layer of the gauges on the TransWhite, then on a separate sheet of TransWhite- backprinted the blue layer. I then apply a layer of Optically clear adhesive to both sides of a blank TransWhite page for spacing. Then the front is attached, followed by the back. Another layer is then applied to the back side of the set- to be used to apply the face to the gauge-plate.