Clutch won't disengage! by RilesOfSmiles
Started on: 03-03-2013 12:54 AM
Replies: 11
Last post by: Tekwiz on 03-06-2013 12:21 PM
RilesOfSmiles

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-03-2013 12:54 AM Click Here to See the Profile for RilesOfSmilesSend a Private Message to RilesOfSmilesDirect Link to This Post
Hello everyone this is my first time posting on this forum and unfortunately it isn't under very good circumstances. This forum has been an extremely helpful resource for me for the past 2 years and I couldn't have kept my car on the road without it. The problem I have is no clutch disengagement. It all started when I was about to drive home from camp and as I was leaving the parking lot I pressed the clutch in and BAM! No more clutch. I got out and noticed the master cylinder seemed to be leaking out of the reservoir and the fluid was black (it wasn't a week earlier). So I thought that must be the problem and I replaced it with Rodney's master cylinder. I have had his slave on it too for about a year.

So I bled the system (ohmygoodnessittook3dayswhatapaininthebackside) and I have full travel on the slave. Just over an inch. And it still doesn't work. When I press on the clutch, which feels perfectly stiff, if the engine is running I can feel a slight vibration through the pedal. I also hear what sounds like gravel in a blender but it is very, very quiet. It didn't even notice it for a while I'm thinking its just bearing noise. I also noticed occasionally when I pressed the clutch fully very rarely it would disengage but it was completely random and pumping the clutch has no impact on it.

A buddy also noticed I have a nasty crack in the slave bracket allowing the slave cylinder to flex a teeny tiny itty bitty little bit but I don't know if that would make a big enough difference to keep the clutch from disengaging. I've also already ordered Rodney's replacement bracket. I really need help this car is my daily driver.