88GT hawaiian road racer build thread by etofun
Started on: 01-14-2013 05:17 AM
Replies: 8
Last post by: etofun on 04-08-2013 02:48 PM
etofun

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-14-2013 05:17 AM Click Here to See the Profile for etofunSend a Private Message to etofunDirect Link to This Post
i bought my GT sometime back in 2009, and to give the old girl credit during the last two and a half years as my daily driver she never once broke down or failed to start. 3 months ago my clutch started slipping badly enough that i couldn't ignore it any more so i took her in to the college shop (im an auto mech student there) and went to work, sadly it all went down hill from there. after dropping the cradle and pulling the motor i took the chance to change those pesky driver side spark plugs and this happened=

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

a buddy tried using an easy -out but they would not budge, so head would need to be taken off. after the head came off another surprise was in store. all six piston had at least 1mm of wobble in all directions, the worst one having just over 1.5mm. it started looking like a full rebuild was needed. so i tore the block down and started checking stuff, luckily my crank was in perfect shape, and so were all the rods so pistons were ordered and the block was sent to the machine shop. while the block was away i tore the heads down to check clearances and found 5 warped intake valves, and 12 badly worn valve guides. at this point my 2 day job had passed the 4 week mark. after the block was done i reassembled the short block

and borowed a buddy who had a trailer to tow it home

after i got her stored at home i started listing all the little things that needed doing, after about the third page i realized that since i have access to more reliable cars to drive daily, and a garage and tools to use i might as well do it right.