Engine temp problems? 85 se with 2.8L by Kenn07
Started on: 07-15-2012 04:24 PM
Replies: 32
Last post by: Kenn07 on 07-29-2012 11:24 PM
Kenn07

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-15-2012 04:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Kenn07Click Here to visit Kenn07's HomePageSend a Private Message to Kenn07Direct Link to This Post
Okay first off I would just like to say how glad I am to find a forum full of Fiero enthusiast!

With that I have a problem I was hoping you guys could help me with as I am still a bit of a noob with this car and I've tried everything I can think of to fix it..

First it does seem to idle a little high around 1000 when warm and from what i've found online and posts in here it should be around 750? It is the 2.8 v6 4 speed.

It runs right around 220 degrees most of the time (with a 160 degree tstat that was installed by previous owner) if I put a 180 in it, it runs at 230-240 city or high way..
The exhaust fumes are clean and it doesn't smoke. I found the driver side coolant line was crushed and I cut out the bad section and replaced it with radiator hose for now (it's triple clamped on both sides) I also replaced the heater core and I tried every burping method I could find online even the ogres cave fill and burp. it looks like the water pump was replaced by previous owner but I'm unsure, the people i got it from had it for about 6 months and didnt drive it because the gears were too tight (just some wd40 on the linkages and its smooth as butter) I also replaced all the belts and the temp sensor and the fan switch. The car still runs around 230-240 with the 180 stat so i put the 160 back in to keep it between 200-220 degrees until I can get this figured out.