Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions - Archive
  Experienced painters opinions on House of Kolor Candy Basecoats?

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

Experienced painters opinions on House of Kolor Candy Basecoats? by GraterFang
Started on: 06-28-2012 11:49 PM
Replies: 21
Last post by: rogergarrison on 07-07-2012 12:45 PM
GraterFang

Feedback score:    (10)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-28-2012 11:49 PM Click Here to See the Profile for GraterFangSend a Private Message to GraterFangDirect Link to This Post
I'm looking into deciding what color to paint my fiero soon. I've decided that I want a red color, preferably a slightly darker red. Now, I really enjoy the look of the House of Kolor kandy brandywine and kandy apple red paints. However, as a novice painter, my understanding is that I honestly probably couldn't pull off doing a true candy color. The thought has occurred to me that with many test panels, I could probably get it somewhat nice but probably not nearly as uniform as I like. In addition, I would probably waste a lot of paint getting it "right" or as close as I could right now.

However, I also noticed that House of Kolor has an alternative to the true candy colors where the candy effect is imitated by the basecoat. My understanding of this is that many of the difficulties of doing a candy paint won't be present in a base coat/ clear coat setup like this. However, I'm somewhat leery about something like this.

1) So does anybody know anything about these paints?
2) Would it actually even look half as nice as a true candy paint job?
3) Has anybody tried one of these before?
4) Am I right that it wouldn't be nearly as difficult as a true candy paint?

Shimrin2® Kandy Basecoat (KBC) System