Harmonic Balancer replacement by Jim_Martin29
Started on: 12-23-2010 05:35 PM
Replies: 14
Last post by: Tom Slick on 12-18-2011 01:42 PM
Jim_Martin29

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-23-2010 05:35 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Jim_Martin29Send a Private Message to Jim_Martin29Direct Link to This Post
This is my first attempt at a repair thread with photos, so if I mess if up, please, cut me some slack.

My first clue that the harmonic balancer or dampener was bad came while I was trying to set the timing. It seemed that the timing mark would move around on me. It kept jumping positions. I also heard a rattling noise from the front of the engine. While trying to change the A/C belt my hand brush the balancer on the crankshaft and it moved. In fact it spun around on the pulley. That’s when I put it all together and realized the balancer needed to be changed.

I ordered a rebuilt balancer from Damper Doctors in Redding, California (http://www.damperdoctor.com/).

This is not a reproduction damper or one made for another engine and remarked. This is a rebuilt Fiero damper, and it looks like new. They do very good work.

The first thing I did was to mask off the damper for painting. The damper arrived painted black. I wanted to paint the timing mark white.

So I masked off everything except the deep slot for the timing mark, then I sanded the area lightly, tacked it off (to clean off the sanding dust) and painted it with primer . . .

then with white. I put on about three coats and topped it off with a little clear, to try and protect it a bit.

The contrast between the black and white of the finished paint job make the timing mark so much easier to see. I did this job a few months ago and the timing was so easy to set after this. The mark almost glows when setting the timing.