Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions - Archive
  Bent clutch arm and pedal info please,no disengagement.

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

Bent clutch arm and pedal info please,no disengagement. by DefEddie
Started on: 06-12-2010 09:09 PM
Replies: 7
Last post by: DefEddie on 06-19-2010 01:13 PM
DefEddie

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post06-12-2010 09:09 PM Click Here to See the Profile for DefEddieSend a Private Message to DefEddieDirect Link to This Post
Yo,having an issue with a clutch.
I'm an auto tech,but try to stay away from trans in general and have somehow kept away from manual trans especially so need some help please.

I have an 87 4cyl 5spd that I cannot get the clutch to disengage.
When I bought it,the clutch master was missing.
Bought new master,and rebuilt the slave with the MR2 piston and new bleeder valve(from S10 slave).
Installed all the above and bled system for ever.
When I was done bleeding,I bled till infinity with pressure bleeder.
Than I read Archism #4&5 and bled it all again.

Read about the problem with the aluminum clutch pedal's bending.
Checked and while I ahve the steel pedal,it was bent worse than the aluminum ones i've seen in the pics.
Instead of ordering,I just took off the old pedal and used a vice and 3lb sledge to straighten it out.
Then rebled all over yet again.
I was able to get the clutch to disengage/engage long enough to drive to the end of my driveway(75yds or so),then had to pump it up to get into reverse to go back up the driveway.
Did it all over again with the bleeding of course.

The slave looks to be engaging the clutch arm fine,but when i'm looking at the pivot on the trans it is moving very little.
It really looks to me like the cast iron is actually bending instead of pivoting the stud like it should.
For the movement I get at the top of the arm,I am getting almost none at the pivot.