Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions - Archive
  Where do I find mounting studs for attaching something like a spoiler?

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

Where do I find mounting studs for attaching something like a spoiler? by Patrick
Started on: 03-25-2010 05:25 PM
Replies: 17
Last post by: Patrick on 03-27-2010 02:23 AM
Patrick

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 458
Rate this member

Report this Post03-25-2010 05:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickDirect Link to This Post

I need a longer one of these...

I included the 10mm 3/8" drive socket just to show some scale. I need a mounting stud with the fine threaded part to be about 1 1/2" long to mount a custom spoiler. I've never done anything like this before, so I'm not sure where to buy parts of this nature.

While I'm at it, what do I "glue" the stud with when I screw the course threaded part of it into the threaded mount of the spoiler?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Isolde

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 133
Rate this member

Report this Post03-25-2010 05:41 PM Click Here to See the Profile for IsoldeSend a Private Message to IsoldeDirect Link to This Post
You can take your vise grips to your nearest salvage yard, that's the easiest way to find more.
Patrick

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-25-2010 06:54 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickDirect Link to This Post

Originally posted by Isolde:

You can take your vise grips to your nearest salvage yard, that's the easiest way to find more.

Well, it's not a simple matter of just requiring "more", I need a couple that are longer. It might be worth my while just to go buy a couple (wherever they might be sold) as opposed to looking over dozens (hundreds?) of wrecked cars hoping to find what I need.

pmbrunelle

Leave feedback