Painting intake? by black1987gt
Started on: 12-19-2008 11:21 PM
Replies: 21
Last post by: countach711 on 01-26-2009 12:18 AM
black1987gt

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-19-2008 11:21 PM Click Here to See the Profile for black1987gtSend a Private Message to black1987gtDirect Link to This Post
hey guys well i have a common problem the paint on my intake manifold of my 87 gt is and has been peeling for some time now just wanting some hints or tips on what kind of paint should i use? and are the intake manifold bolts tourqe to yield? or can i reuse them like regular ones. i was think about just gettin some of that duplicolor high heat gloss paint with a clear coat finish and paint it cherry red like stock. any sugestoins?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Ramblin Man

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-19-2008 11:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Ramblin ManSend a Private Message to Ramblin ManDirect Link to This Post
I'm no pro, but I have had really good luck using aluminum wheel/ caliper paint with a topcoat of wheel clearcoat. It's really tough and looks great. I strip the part and wash it, then use starting fluid to remove any traces of grease, paint the parts, then stick them on the grill for twenty minutes to cure and aneal the paint. My parts come out looking like they were powder coated.
black1987gt

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-19-2008 11:34 PM Click Here to See the Profile for black1987gtSend a Private Message to black1987gtDirect Link to This Post
oh yeah i forgot to ask about that. the heating of it can i just use a regular household oven or what? should i follow my moms old recipies? preheat to 450 add paint let sit for 10 mins bake for 30 stick a toothpick in it and if it comes out clean its done? lol like how oes it work.
Ramblin Man

Leave feedback

Rate this member