Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions - Archive
  Size of rear axle nut

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


Size of rear axle nut by hluk87GT
Started on: 05-12-2008 08:42 AM
Replies: 9
Last post by: css9450 on 05-14-2008 04:09 PM
hluk87GT
Member
Posts: 22
From: Englishtown,NJ,USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-12-2008 08:42 AM Click Here to See the Profile for hluk87GTClick Here to Email hluk87GTSend a Private Message to hluk87GTDirect Link to This Post
Just a quick question, can any please confirm the size of the rear axle nut? Looks like 28mm, but not sure since I couldn't get a shallow socket on to it. Before I drop $20 on a deep socket, just want to make sure. Thanks.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
css9450
Member
Posts: 5007
From: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Registered: Nov 2002


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 82
Rate this member

Report this Post05-12-2008 09:23 AM Click Here to See the Profile for css9450Click Here to Email css9450Send a Private Message to css9450Direct Link to This Post
Should be a 30mm.
IP: Logged
rubyredfiero
Member
Posts: 716
From: Belle River, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 58
Rate this member

Report this Post05-12-2008 05:51 PM Click Here to See the Profile for rubyredfieroSend a Private Message to rubyredfieroDirect Link to This Post
Make sure it's a deep one.
IP: Logged
2farnorth
Member
Posts: 3402
From: Leonard, Tx. USA
Registered: Feb 2001


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 81
Rate this member

Report this Post05-12-2008 06:48 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 2farnorthSend a Private Message to 2farnorthDirect Link to This Post
Autozone will let you rent/borrow the socket if you don't want to buy it. Just have to put a deposit on it that is refunded on return
IP: Logged
TiredGXP
Member
Posts: 712
From: A cold, miserable place
Registered: Jan 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-13-2008 12:29 AM Click Here to See the Profile for TiredGXPSend a Private Message to TiredGXPDirect Link to This Post
It is a 30mm nut. You can get them off with a 1 1/4" deep socket as well. (Fits a bit loose, but when you have a 1 1/4 lying around and can't find a 30mm....)
IP: Logged
Carrluvr
Member
Posts: 163
From: Upstate,NY
Registered: Aug 2007


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-13-2008 06:31 AM Click Here to See the Profile for CarrluvrClick Here to Email CarrluvrSend a Private Message to CarrluvrDirect Link to This Post
I just went out an bought a 30mm deep socket impact from advanced for 17 bucks. Thought that was pretty good price.
IP: Logged
Fiero2m8
Member
Posts: 1926
From: Niagara, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Feb 2006


Feedback score:    (10)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-13-2008 11:32 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Fiero2m8Click Here to visit Fiero2m8's HomePageSend a Private Message to Fiero2m8Direct Link to This Post
Thanks guys, I picked up a 30mm socket while out today.
I've also used a standard size in the past.
In fact, I cut the threads shorter with a hacksaw a couple years ago, so I don't need a deep socket anyways.

------------------

86 LT1-4T60 Nitrous Roadster~84 Indy Northstar-Porsche Hatchback

IP: Logged
hluk87GT
Member
Posts: 22
From: Englishtown,NJ,USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-13-2008 08:49 PM Click Here to See the Profile for hluk87GTClick Here to Email hluk87GTSend a Private Message to hluk87GTDirect Link to This Post
I bought a 30mm socket today and it was kind of loose. I think a 29mm would fit more snug. Found both at Pep boys for $13 ea.
IP: Logged
LAMBO
Member
Posts: 1677
From: Lucas, Iowa, USA
Registered: May 2000


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-14-2008 03:20 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LAMBOClick Here to Email LAMBOSend a Private Message to LAMBODirect Link to This Post
I had to buy new nuts the other day. They are actually listed as 29mm (for the Fiero) in the books at the parts stores. My 30mm socket always fit loose. Now I know why.
IP: Logged
css9450
Member
Posts: 5007
From: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Registered: Nov 2002


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 82
Rate this member

Report this Post05-14-2008 04:09 PM Click Here to See the Profile for css9450Click Here to Email css9450Send a Private Message to css9450Direct Link to This Post
I've used both; the 30mm did indeed seem a little loose and I almost mentioned it in my earlier post.

The only times I've tried a 29mm I had to thread the nut back onto an axle and whack the socket with a hammer to get it unstuck from the nut.
IP: Logged



All times are ET (US)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock