engine replacement via engine hoist by ford2go
Started on: 04-16-2008 01:38 AM
Replies: 5
Last post by: uhlanstan on 04-18-2008 01:39 AM
ford2go

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-16-2008 01:38 AM Click Here to See the Profile for ford2goSend a Private Message to ford2goDirect Link to This Post
Hi, I'm a newbie, and I'm finally trying to gather my courage up to work on a Fiero that I've had for a while. ( I'm also retired now, so I have a bit more time).

Anyway, there was a post a while back by a member named Toddster describing dropping the engine with the use of an engine hoist.
This looks messy, but possibly doable. I have the 4 cylinder, so the process will be somewhat different -- and maybe easier.

My question is about the rating of the hoist. The post specifies a 2 ton hoist -- and I have one of those. But in the pics, the hoist is shown extended to the last possible position. This reduces the hoist rating. Mine is labelled as a half ton at that spot.

I'm guesing that this is sufficient, as the hoist in the pics looks similar to mine. Also, a 2 ton (max rating) hoist seems to be about the largest normally found.

So, can anyone tell me if my hoist should be sufficient?

Thanks,

ford2go
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
stratrex

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-16-2008 01:59 AM Click Here to See the Profile for stratrexSend a Private Message to stratrexDirect Link to This Post
I used mine to lower the cradle on the extended limit and it worked fine. The cradle with all the components is likely under the 1/2 ton rating. I wouldn't lift the back end of the car with the cradle attached but i used mine to lift the backend off the cradle after lowering the cradle to a cart.
CowsPatoot

Feedback score:    (29)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 84
Rate this member