Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions - Archive
  Radio stopped????

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


Radio stopped???? by emsdad
Started on: 04-03-2008 07:37 PM
Replies: 16
Last post by: BlackGT Codde on 04-06-2008 05:02 PM
emsdad
Member
Posts: 251
From: Va
Registered: Mar 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-03-2008 07:37 PM Click Here to See the Profile for emsdadSend a Private Message to emsdadDirect Link to This Post
I cannot figure out why the radio just stopped working. I do not get anything on the display. I can hear the speakers crackle when I turn the volume fade. Where shouldI check? It is a 86 and the radio is stock. I will probally replace it but for the time being I would like to get it working again.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Winkie
Member
Posts: 1159
From: bangor, PA
Registered: Feb 2007


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-03-2008 08:47 PM Click Here to See the Profile for WinkieClick Here to visit Winkie's HomePageSend a Private Message to WinkieDirect Link to This Post
Something similar happened to me. Try replacing the BAT fuse. The fuses play tricks on you sometimes. Your in a bit of a different situation then I was. It may help.

Ryan
IP: Logged
BlackGT Codde
Member
Posts: 1107
From: Gallup, New Mexico
Registered: Mar 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-03-2008 09:08 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BlackGT CoddeClick Here to Email BlackGT CoddeSend a Private Message to BlackGT CoddeDirect Link to This Post
if it is the tall fat radio tape player with all the EQ buttons then i may suggest
reaching around back and forcing wires back into the radio or even the antennae
also if this next one fixes it then i have the same prob....

punch the radio in the FACE or the kidney(sidewall) it prefers the kidneys on
mine

it works for me now!!!
IP: Logged
Firefighter
Member
Posts: 1407
From: Southold, New York, USA
Registered: Nov 2004


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-03-2008 09:39 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FirefighterClick Here to Email FirefighterSend a Private Message to FirefighterDirect Link to This Post
My radio crapped out a few years ago. I found it had a cracked circuit board. By wedging a piece of foam between the top cover and the circuit board, the radio began to work again.

------------------

IP: Logged
Icelander
Member
Posts: 302
From: Snohomish, WA, USA
Registered: Aug 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-03-2008 10:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for IcelanderClick Here to Email IcelanderSend a Private Message to IcelanderDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
punch the radio in the FACE or the kidney


Ah... Percussive Maintenance...
IP: Logged
Bruce
Member
Posts: 2189
From: Ventura, California, USA
Registered: May 99


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-03-2008 11:45 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BruceClick Here to Email BruceSend a Private Message to BruceDirect Link to This Post
5 minutes and a hammer...
IP: Logged
emsdad
Member
Posts: 251
From: Va
Registered: Mar 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-04-2008 07:31 AM Click Here to See the Profile for emsdadSend a Private Message to emsdadDirect Link to This Post
Wher e is the battery fuse located? The radio I have doesn't have the eq. It is the basic one with the cassette.
IP: Logged
BlackGT Codde
Member
Posts: 1107
From: Gallup, New Mexico
Registered: Mar 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-04-2008 08:00 AM Click Here to See the Profile for BlackGT CoddeClick Here to Email BlackGT CoddeSend a Private Message to BlackGT CoddeDirect Link to This Post
most of the fuses are by your left sidewall on the top of your leg room area on
the bottom of your gauges...very bottom. i would try looking there and see if you
can find it
if you have a repair manual it would tell you there and also any of the other problems
you may encounter. I would recomend to get one
the best way to fix the radio problem and never worry about it again is to buy a new
one. personally i have two old beaters with good radios and the good running cars have
beater radios so ill swap one out. just try to find one the right size mine good ones are
small.
if youre looking at high performance but dont know what to get see if you can get a crutchfield mag
they tell you all the specs in a chart and you can compare side by side al the different brands and
even speakers too!
edit sorry i dont know the exact fuse but the cluster is past the hood release lever good luck

[This message has been edited by BlackGT Codde (edited 04-04-2008).]

IP: Logged
emsdad
Member
Posts: 251
From: Va
Registered: Mar 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-04-2008 08:11 AM Click Here to See the Profile for emsdadSend a Private Message to emsdadDirect Link to This Post
I have a Haynes manuel. I will check that. It happend when I unhooked the battery to clear the codes. I just find it funny that I can get something thru the speakers but nothing on the radio? I get the crackle when I fade the speakers from front to rear. The display is out though. What are you guys finding are the best sounding factory speakers? I have a couple of vehicles with some good systems but they all have JL components and subs. I am looking at the Infinity's. I haven't had anything with 4x6 plate speakers since my 87 s-10 and even back then 4x6 speakers didn't offer much.
IP: Logged
BlackGT Codde
Member
Posts: 1107
From: Gallup, New Mexico
Registered: Mar 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-04-2008 08:19 AM Click Here to See the Profile for BlackGT CoddeClick Here to Email BlackGT CoddeSend a Private Message to BlackGT CoddeDirect Link to This Post
sorry for this post that was here im deleting it

[This message has been edited by BlackGT Codde (edited 04-06-2008).]

IP: Logged
85fiero_fanat
Member
Posts: 371
From: Midland, MI
Registered: Mar 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-04-2008 01:42 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 85fiero_fanatClick Here to Email 85fiero_fanatSend a Private Message to 85fiero_fanatDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by BlackGT Codde:

if you can wait til about 6:00 ill have a chart posted showing all the specs and
different kinds of speakers trust me this will help a lot lot lot
i could buy a total dream system with a sub for just over 200 dollars
right now for subs im lookin at pioneer they seem to have the smallest depth so you can
mount it behind the seats and still recline and move back (only3.5 in)

ps this is straight out of a crutchfield mag and will be posted in general fiero chat


FYI don't buy from crutchfield...They are very expensive compared to ebay stores. I would suggest going to ebay, clicking on the ebay store button and typing in the size of speaker you're looking for. I'm looking at getting $330 audiophile quality component speakers for my Conquest and they are $65 plus shipping. The dash is 4x10, but I've been told by many that 4x6 sound a lot better, because they don't have such a wide cone. Here are some really nice ones for the dash for pretty cheap http://cgi.ebay.com/POWER-A...Z14939QQcmdZViewItem and if money isn't an option, I would suggest either of these for the dash (about $90 after shipping) http://cgi.ebay.com/INFINIT...Z14939QQcmdZViewItem (about $90 after shipping) http://cgi.ebay.com/JBL-P64...ZphotoQQcmdZViewItem there's a limited production of 4x6 and 4x10 speakers, because most cars don't use them. When choosing speakers just remember a few small rules. Component are much better than coaxial (component are where the different speakers are separate...coaxial is where they're stacked in one speaker)... wattage isn't a big deal, especially if you plan on running off the head unit...and RMS wattage is much more important than Max wattage

In my car I have cheap Nitro 4x10 speakers in the dash (cost me $40 after shipping), and cheap AG Audio speakers in the seats, and they all still sound fine. The only problem is that they get a little distorted when the bass is turned up. Probably due to me not having an external amp. I remedied that by adding a cheap sub and amp.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
BlackGT Codde
Member
Posts: 1107
From: Gallup, New Mexico
Registered: Mar 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-04-2008 09:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BlackGT CoddeClick Here to Email BlackGT CoddeSend a Private Message to BlackGT CoddeDirect Link to This Post
sorry but i cant type up the whole speaker page so you got to get your info
somewhere else
try checking crutchfield.com for your specific radio stuff then buying it from someplace cheap

i forgot to tell you that crutcfield is pretty expensive but they leave no info out.
IP: Logged
emsdad
Member
Posts: 251
From: Va
Registered: Mar 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-04-2008 09:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for emsdadSend a Private Message to emsdadDirect Link to This Post
I went ahead and bought a new Head unit(JVC KD-G340) and some new Infinity 4x6 plates. I now that the front dash calls for 6x10 and we all know they are hard to find. I am hoping that the 4x6's will work in the dash. The head unit I got is going to stick out a little I think. The mounting depth is 9 4/5". According to crutchfield it will stick out 1/2". The real kicker is my dad came over and all of a sudden the dam radio started to work..........................that bites!
IP: Logged
Scurvy
Member
Posts: 865
From: Alexandria, Va
Registered: Nov 2005


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-04-2008 10:17 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ScurvyClick Here to Email ScurvySend a Private Message to ScurvyDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by BlackGT Codde:

if it is the tall fat radio tape player with all the EQ buttons then i may suggest
reaching around back and forcing wires back into the radio or even the antennae
also if this next one fixes it then i have the same prob....

punch the radio in the FACE or the kidney(sidewall) it prefers the kidneys on
mine

it works for me now!!!


I have this problem..but the kidney hammer fist is only a temp fix. I would love to know the real fix
IP: Logged
85fiero_fanat
Member
Posts: 371
From: Midland, MI
Registered: Mar 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-05-2008 11:21 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 85fiero_fanatClick Here to Email 85fiero_fanatSend a Private Message to 85fiero_fanatDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by emsdad:

I went ahead and bought a new Head unit(JVC KD-G340) and some new Infinity 4x6 plates. I now that the front dash calls for 6x10 and we all know they are hard to find. I am hoping that the 4x6's will work in the dash. The head unit I got is going to stick out a little I think. The mounting depth is 9 4/5". According to crutchfield it will stick out 1/2". The real kicker is my dad came over and all of a sudden the dam radio started to work..........................that bites!


That's good that it started working again. It's always a nice upgrade to put a cd player in the car anyway. 4x6's should sound nice in there. I wish I would have gone that right. They might bolt right up, depends on how many mounting spots it has. If it doesn't, you just need to make a bracket that it can bolt into. Good luck though.

Oh yeah, as for the stereo sticking out, I think it's a common problem on the Fiero's. The original unit isn't very deep, and it would make it difficult to have a cd player that's that deep. You could modify a few things in the dash so that it would fit right, but you would probably have to take that whole piece of the dash off, so that you could get to stuff that you needed to bend out of the way.
IP: Logged
emsdad
Member
Posts: 251
From: Va
Registered: Mar 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-05-2008 01:05 PM Click Here to See the Profile for emsdadSend a Private Message to emsdadDirect Link to This Post
This morning the dam radio isn't working again. I guess I do not have my fathers touch. Oh Well hopefully it is in the radio and not the wiring. I guess I will find out when the new one is installed.
IP: Logged
BlackGT Codde
Member
Posts: 1107
From: Gallup, New Mexico
Registered: Mar 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-06-2008 05:02 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BlackGT CoddeClick Here to Email BlackGT CoddeSend a Private Message to BlackGT CoddeDirect Link to This Post
most radios in the fieros just go bad any radio does as stated earlier you could try to wedge foam
in between the top circuit board and top plate cover that might work but usually something is going
to need resoldering and computer chips just go out when the metal thins out too far then cracks
the only solution is to buy a new radio. tip make sure you have either a tester light or voltmeter
it helps a ton when finding your constantly on wire or your usual power wire the dimmer if your radio
works with them or some other wires. make sure that you try to keep as much wire as possible from
your stock radio. dont touch the wires coming from the bottom of the tray I think that they have
something to do with the ecu because i was trying to figure out what they went to and left them
stripped (stupid me) then started my car. it ran crazy and i got about 20 diff warning lights before i
shut off the car!!! in other words only mess with the wires if they were already attatched to your stock
radio. one more tip your constant is the one on a plug that is separate from the rest of them
and on new radios it is the aux.
IP: Logged



All times are ET (US)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock