Headlight Gear Rebuild - Gen 2 by DrCPU
Started on: 03-29-2008 04:17 PM
Replies: 9
Last post by: Ohio Scott on 07-26-2008 02:47 PM
DrCPU

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-29-2008 04:17 PM Click Here to See the Profile for DrCPUSend a Private Message to DrCPUDirect Link to This Post
I'm posting this in the technical thread rather than in my build thread for one reason. If someone else is looking for help to do this work it might be easier for them to find my instructions here than in my build. My build will have a link to this thread - so I'm covering both bases.

First off - I'm not a mechanic so please be gentle with me on specific words etc. These instructions can be used as examples of what not to do - or what to do - depending on your mechanical ability. I'll leave it to you do decide which one applies to you!

I have an 88'GT and finally had the problem everyone gets with headlights that start to come up - then don't then do - or have motors that spin for a long time after they close. My driver side motor started to act up in Sept 2007 at Archie's place - just before the Chop Top Reunion. I made do until the end of the season, but by that time it was clear I had to repair the units (might as well do both sides if I have to do one)....

So here goes...

I had picked up Rodney Dickman's rebuild kit at Fierorama - but when I got home I realised the instructions were all words - and for many makes of cars - no pics at all. As I'm not a mechnic I really need pictures to guide me to the parts I need to unscrew etc. Otherwise I break things quickly! I also ordered the complete rebuild kit from the FieroStore. The instructions with that kit were short and - no pics! So I search PFF and other sites and came up with some instructions from FieroDomain.com. Seven pages of instructions with quite a few pictures. Way better than the other two - for my needs anyway! Thanks are really due to FieroDomain.