Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions - Archive
  Which Wire? Alarm Question

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


Which Wire? Alarm Question by whadeduck
Started on: 01-24-2008 08:34 PM
Replies: 20
Last post by: PaulJK on 02-01-2008 04:33 PM
whadeduck
Member
Posts: 8907
From: Aventura, FL
Registered: Jul 2004


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 103
Rate this member

Report this Post01-24-2008 08:34 PM Click Here to See the Profile for whadeduckClick Here to Email whadeduckSend a Private Message to whadeduckDirect Link to This Post
Got a relay hooked into the alarm wire that is supposed to trigger the dome light when I trigger the door unlock feature. I tried to hook it into the orange wire that goes up the a-pillar to the dome light. If I apply 12 volts to the wire, the dome light comes on. But it's not working through the alarm system. Should I be trying to hook it up a different way? It's a Viper alarm.

------------------
Whade' "The Duck Formerly Known As Wade" Duck
'87 GT Auto
'88 Ferrario
'84 Indy

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
jb1
Member
Posts: 2140
From: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Registered: May 2003


Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-24-2008 11:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jb1Click Here to Email jb1Send a Private Message to jb1Direct Link to This Post
it should be a - to the white wire at pin switch.. use a relay
IP: Logged
Synthesis
Member
Posts: 12102
From: Jordan, MN
Registered: Feb 2002


Feedback score:    (19)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 288
Rate this member

Report this Post01-25-2008 08:43 AM Click Here to See the Profile for SynthesisSend a Private Message to SynthesisDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by jb1:

it should be a - to the white wire at pin switch.. use a relay


Before you use a relay, check the specs on the alarm to make sure the output can reverse polarity and has enough amperage to power the bulbs. You may need a relay, as stated, but I have seen some that do not.

jb1 is correct. The white wire at the pin switch in the kick panel is a Negative input.

Trigger it from there.
IP: Logged
whadeduck
Member
Posts: 8907
From: Aventura, FL
Registered: Jul 2004


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 103
Rate this member

Report this Post01-25-2008 09:17 AM Click Here to See the Profile for whadeduckClick Here to Email whadeduckSend a Private Message to whadeduckDirect Link to This Post
Okie dokie. I'll try it tonight and see what happens. Still got a wholeheapinbuncha wiring left to do on the rest of the car though.

------------------
Whade' "The Duck Formerly Known As Wade" Duck
'87 GT Auto
'88 Ferrario
'84 Indy

IP: Logged
jb1
Member
Posts: 2140
From: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Registered: May 2003


Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-25-2008 10:56 AM Click Here to See the Profile for jb1Click Here to Email jb1Send a Private Message to jb1Direct Link to This Post
the dome light wire off the alarm will be black/white it is only a - 200ma output you have to use a relay to trigger to a chassis ground output from relay.
you will also use the same white wire as the - door trigger for the alarm.

[This message has been edited by jb1 (edited 01-25-2008).]

IP: Logged
Synthesis
Member
Posts: 12102
From: Jordan, MN
Registered: Feb 2002


Feedback score:    (19)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 288
Rate this member

Report this Post01-25-2008 11:08 AM Click Here to See the Profile for SynthesisSend a Private Message to SynthesisDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by jb1:

the dome light wire off the alarm will be black/white it is only a - 200ma output you have to use a relay to trigger to a chassis ground output from relay.
you will also use the same white wire as the - door trigger for the alarm.




I agree with almost everything you have said there. EXCEPT: I have installed several Viper alarms that had a -500ma output and were capable of running the dome lights alone. My current alarm/remote start in my Fiero is able to run the dome lights with no relay as well.

I have used Relays on anything smaller than a -500ma output.

And yes, as stated, you use the same wire for the dome light trigger as you do for the alarm "Door Open" trigger.
IP: Logged
whadeduck
Member
Posts: 8907
From: Aventura, FL
Registered: Jul 2004


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 103
Rate this member

Report this Post01-25-2008 11:23 AM Click Here to See the Profile for whadeduckClick Here to Email whadeduckSend a Private Message to whadeduckDirect Link to This Post
Okie dokie. The instructions call for using a relay. So I already have one hooked up. I just think I was hooking up to the wrong wire. Hopefully I can get it to where I won't set off the alarm when I unlock the doors.

------------------
Whade' "The Duck Formerly Known As Wade" Duck
'87 GT Auto
'88 Ferrario
'84 Indy

IP: Logged
jb1
Member
Posts: 2140
From: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Registered: May 2003


Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-25-2008 04:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jb1Click Here to Email jb1Send a Private Message to jb1Direct Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Synthesis:
I agree with almost everything you have said there. EXCEPT: I have installed several Viper alarms that had a -500ma output and were capable of running the dome lights alone. My current alarm/remote start in my Fiero is able to run the dome lights with no relay as well.

I have used Relays on anything smaller than a -500ma output.

And yes, as stated, you use the same wire for the dome light trigger as you do for the alarm "Door Open" trigger.


some have built in relays. not sure without model #
IP: Logged
whadeduck
Member
Posts: 8907
From: Aventura, FL
Registered: Jul 2004


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 103
Rate this member

Report this Post01-25-2008 05:16 PM Click Here to See the Profile for whadeduckClick Here to Email whadeduckSend a Private Message to whadeduckDirect Link to This Post
It's a Viper 350Hv. The instructions actually say to hook it into a relay. So far, the only thing I haven't had to hook into a relay was the door trigger.

------------------
Whade' "The Duck Formerly Known As Wade" Duck
'87 GT Auto
'88 Ferrario
'84 Indy

IP: Logged
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6632
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post01-25-2008 10:40 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
If your alarm is one of those 2-way paging systems, invest in rechargeable batteries. My remote goes through a battery about every 6 weeks
IP: Logged
whadeduck
Member
Posts: 8907
From: Aventura, FL
Registered: Jul 2004


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 103
Rate this member

Report this Post01-29-2008 10:22 PM Click Here to See the Profile for whadeduckClick Here to Email whadeduckSend a Private Message to whadeduckDirect Link to This Post
Ok, tried to hook in the dome wire tonight. Still not working. Tried with a relay. Tried without a relay. Tried the white wire. Tried the orange wire. All had the same results. Absolutely nothing. Here's the wiring diagram from the instruction manual.

and here's the relay diagram

I have 86 hooked up to a 12v source and 85 hooked up to a ground. I've tried several different ways of hooking up 30 and 87 to no avail. If I hook a 12v source directly to the orange wire, the dome light comes on. So I know the dome light works.Any help would be appreciated.

------------------
Whade' "The Duck Formerly Known As Wade" Duck
'87 GT Auto
'88 Ferrario
'84 Indy

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Hudini
Member
Posts: 7876
From: Shanghai, China
Registered: Feb 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 158
Rate this member

Report this Post01-29-2008 11:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for HudiniClick Here to Email HudiniSend a Private Message to HudiniDirect Link to This Post
Have you verified the other end is working correctly? Is there a way to check if the Viper is sending the proper voltage to close the circuit?
IP: Logged
whadeduck
Member
Posts: 8907
From: Aventura, FL
Registered: Jul 2004


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 103
Rate this member

Report this Post01-30-2008 06:05 AM Click Here to See the Profile for whadeduckClick Here to Email whadeduckSend a Private Message to whadeduckDirect Link to This Post
I'm going to check that out tonight. I didn't have my voltmeter with me before.

------------------
Whade' "The Duck Formerly Known As Wade" Duck
'87 GT Auto
'88 Ferrario
'84 Indy

IP: Logged
whadeduck
Member
Posts: 8907
From: Aventura, FL
Registered: Jul 2004


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 103
Rate this member

Report this Post01-30-2008 01:34 PM Click Here to See the Profile for whadeduckClick Here to Email whadeduckSend a Private Message to whadeduckDirect Link to This Post
Bump for the afternoon crowd.

------------------
Whade' "The Duck Formerly Known As Wade" Duck
'87 GT Auto
'88 Ferrario
'84 Indy

IP: Logged
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6632
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post01-30-2008 02:39 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
From the diagrams you have posted, you should have 85 connected to the H1/4 Black/White wire. Orange dome light wire to 30 and 12+ positive (heavy enough guage wire to feed the dome lights) to 87.

I think the fiero domelights also work from a negative trigger. If so, another way of doing the hook-up would be to connect 87 to ground and the white domelight wire to 30.
IP: Logged
whadeduck
Member
Posts: 8907
From: Aventura, FL
Registered: Jul 2004


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 103
Rate this member

Report this Post01-30-2008 10:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for whadeduckClick Here to Email whadeduckSend a Private Message to whadeduckDirect Link to This Post
Woohoo! Thanks to all y'all's info., I spent about an hour on the car tonight and got the dome light and trunk popper hooked back up. Now all I have to do is clean up the wiring and the alarm is done. Thanks y'all. The celebration will have to be short lived however. Still much wiring to do.

------------------
Whade' "The Duck Formerly Known As Wade" Duck
'87 GT Auto
'88 Ferrario
'84 Indy

IP: Logged
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6632
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post01-31-2008 02:31 AM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
So what connection did you use to get it to work ? Enquiring minds might need to know (later ) ...

How about some +'s all around ?
IP: Logged
whadeduck
Member
Posts: 8907
From: Aventura, FL
Registered: Jul 2004


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 103
Rate this member

Report this Post01-31-2008 06:07 AM Click Here to See the Profile for whadeduckClick Here to Email whadeduckSend a Private Message to whadeduckDirect Link to This Post
Worked on the negative trigger. Gave out well-deserved pluses.

------------------
Whade' "The Duck Formerly Known As Wade" Duck
'87 GT Auto
'88 Ferrario
'84 Indy

IP: Logged
jb1
Member
Posts: 2140
From: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Registered: May 2003


Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-01-2008 02:39 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jb1Click Here to Email jb1Send a Private Message to jb1Direct Link to This Post
87 GROUND
86 12V FUSED
30 OUTPUT TO WHITE WIRE
85 BLK/WHT FROM ALARM

------------------


87 GT
series 1 3800sc (7.597 @88.53 1.579 60ft)

IP: Logged
whadeduck
Member
Posts: 8907
From: Aventura, FL
Registered: Jul 2004


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 103
Rate this member

Report this Post02-01-2008 02:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for whadeduckClick Here to Email whadeduckSend a Private Message to whadeduckDirect Link to This Post
I believe that's the way it ended up working. I'm not much of an electrician and I had to train my brain a bit to figure out how the relays were working. Now I have to hook up the new instrument panel, the trunk switch and door lock switch on the center console, lengthen the wires to the lighter and CPU interface so I can install them in the dash, hook up the console lights, power mirror switch, new rear-view mirror, new backup lights, hook up the speakers and factory sub for the radio, and new headlights and I think I might have the wiring completed. I probably forgot something though. =\

------------------
Whade' "The Duck Formerly Known As Wade" Duck
'87 GT Auto
'88 Ferrario
'84 Indy

IP: Logged
PaulJK
Member
Posts: 6632
From: Los Angeles
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score:    (25)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 237
Rate this member

Report this Post02-01-2008 04:33 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PaulJKSend a Private Message to PaulJKDirect Link to This Post
VERY interesting . i understood how the relay worked but was unsure how it would work with the dome lights. Thanks.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot



All times are ET (US)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock