Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions - Archive
  Need pic of oil pressure sender for Iron Duke

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


Need pic of oil pressure sender for Iron Duke by ToonTownfiero
Started on: 01-15-2006 04:28 PM
Replies: 14
Last post by: ltlfrari on 01-16-2006 01:42 PM
ToonTownfiero
Member
Posts: 993
From: Saskatoon Saskatchewan
Registered: Apr 2004


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-15-2006 04:28 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ToonTownfieroClick Here to visit ToonTownfiero's HomePageSend a Private Message to ToonTownfieroDirect Link to This Post
Could somebody please supply a pic of were the oil pressure sensor is on my 4cylinder iron duke.

a + will be awared for any help.

I need to know where to find this thing.

------------------

1985 2m4
Saskatoon, Sask Canada
Visit the Saskatoon Fiero Club Website at
http://www.freewebs.com/saskatoonfieros/
Come chat with us at our Forum
http://saskfiero.suddenlaunch.com/

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Jax184
Member
Posts: 3524
From: Vancouver, Canada
Registered: Jun 2005


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 111
Rate this member

Report this Post01-15-2006 05:07 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Jax184Click Here to visit Jax184's HomePageSend a Private Message to Jax184Direct Link to This Post
It's underneath the intake manifold, roughly level with the distributer. It's also put in at a bit of a funny angle.
It's plenty easy to replace when the intake manifold is off, but virtually impossible otherwise.

You can see it here right beneath the cam cover.

[This message has been edited by Jax184 (edited 01-15-2006).]

IP: Logged
ToonTownfiero
Member
Posts: 993
From: Saskatoon Saskatchewan
Registered: Apr 2004


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-15-2006 06:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ToonTownfieroClick Here to visit ToonTownfiero's HomePageSend a Private Message to ToonTownfieroDirect Link to This Post
This thing I have circles in yellow

IP: Logged
2farnorth
Member
Posts: 3402
From: Leonard, Tx. USA
Registered: Feb 2001


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 81
Rate this member

Report this Post01-15-2006 06:32 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 2farnorthSend a Private Message to 2farnorthDirect Link to This Post
If yours is an 85 or later, it should be larger than that one. That one appears to be an 84 motor that only had an idiot light and no guage. The later ones are shaped somewhat like a black bulb.

Dave

IP: Logged
spark1
Member
Posts: 11159
From: Benton County, OR
Registered: Dec 2002


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 175
Rate this member

Report this Post01-15-2006 06:50 PM Click Here to See the Profile for spark1Send a Private Message to spark1Direct Link to This Post
Like this:

IP: Logged
ToonTownfiero
Member
Posts: 993
From: Saskatoon Saskatchewan
Registered: Apr 2004


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-15-2006 07:30 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ToonTownfieroClick Here to visit ToonTownfiero's HomePageSend a Private Message to ToonTownfieroDirect Link to This Post
I have an '85 with just a dummy light.

------------------

1985 2m4
Saskatoon, Sask Canada
Visit the Saskatoon Fiero Club Website at
http://www.freewebs.com/saskatoonfieros/
Come chat with us at our Forum
http://saskfiero.suddenlaunch.com/

IP: Logged
ToonTownfiero
Member
Posts: 993
From: Saskatoon Saskatchewan
Registered: Apr 2004


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-15-2006 07:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ToonTownfieroClick Here to visit ToonTownfiero's HomePageSend a Private Message to ToonTownfieroDirect Link to This Post
So, should I be taking this to a garage to get done or is it possible to do by myself.
IP: Logged
2farnorth
Member
Posts: 3402
From: Leonard, Tx. USA
Registered: Feb 2001


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 81
Rate this member

Report this Post01-15-2006 08:15 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 2farnorthSend a Private Message to 2farnorthDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by ToonTownfiero:

I have an '85 with just a dummy light.

I have never seen an 85 with a light for oil pressure. The standard 85 instrument panel has an oil pressure guage in the lower portion of the tach. Are you sure someone didn't put an 84 guage cluster in?
If you do have only a light then you will need the smaller sending unit.. It's simple to take it off. Pinch the wiring plug on the top, pull it off and find a wrench that fits the nut on the bottom of the sender just above the threads and take it out. Put the new one back in the same way. You may have to work by feel some because of the location it's hard to see it.

Dave

[This message has been edited by 2farnorth (edited 01-15-2006).]

IP: Logged
ToonTownfiero
Member
Posts: 993
From: Saskatoon Saskatchewan
Registered: Apr 2004


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-15-2006 08:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ToonTownfieroClick Here to visit ToonTownfiero's HomePageSend a Private Message to ToonTownfieroDirect Link to This Post
Nevermind,
I must be on crack or something
There is a guage there.

Is there no way to tap my newly purchased oil pressure guage into wires that go to that guage?
now knowing that I do have the stock oil pressure guage, how do I go about remove the stock O.P sensor?

------------------

1985 2m4
Saskatoon, Sask Canada
Visit the Saskatoon Fiero Club Website at
http://www.freewebs.com/saskatoonfieros/
Come chat with us at our Forum
http://saskfiero.suddenlaunch.com/

[This message has been edited by ToonTownfiero (edited 01-15-2006).]

IP: Logged
DtheC
Member
Posts: 3395
From: Newton Iowa, USA
Registered: Sep 2005


Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 60
Rate this member

Report this Post01-16-2006 03:15 AM Click Here to See the Profile for DtheCClick Here to Email DtheCSend a Private Message to DtheCDirect Link to This Post
My 88 duke had the newist sensor, so your experience will be a little diferent. O'Rileys had a rental socket that is used in conjunction with the replacement sender that they sold me. The socket didn't fit the sensor that was on the engine, but since I knew the sender did not work with the guage, I just used a crecent wrench to remove the original sender. I had just enough room to work blind from above/around Intake manifold. I didn't try from below. It took a little while to get the new sender 'stabed' in but it was do-able.

Sorry I don't know the pin out for the plugs, I have the 88 Pontiac shop manual, and can find what the wires go to for an 88. I don't know if the electricals changed on that circuit between 85-88. Did you get the 88 style sender and need to adapt to an 85 plug and wiring?

[This message has been edited by DtheC (edited 01-16-2006).]

IP: Logged
86GT3.4DOHC
Member
Posts: 10007
From: Marion Ohio
Registered: Apr 2004


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 306
Rate this member

Report this Post01-16-2006 03:46 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 86GT3.4DOHCSend a Private Message to 86GT3.4DOHCDirect Link to This Post
The tan (maybe tan w\black stripe) should feed the guage. There is also a +12V line and a FP line going to that sensor. The sensor by-passes the fuel pump relay once it sees ~4PSI oil pressure, as a redundant backup to the relay. So dont fudge with the other wires. Though seems to me you'd be just as good using the stock guage, since unless you had a mechanical oil pressure guage, the accuracy will be generaly about the same as the stock guage, which is more than adequate for daily drivers.

------------------
Boost is like Venerial Disease, one night of passion can result in weeks of pain (and work.)
http:\\www.myspace.com\keeptherubbersidedown

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
ToonTownfiero
Member
Posts: 993
From: Saskatoon Saskatchewan
Registered: Apr 2004


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-16-2006 09:10 AM Click Here to See the Profile for ToonTownfieroClick Here to visit ToonTownfiero's HomePageSend a Private Message to ToonTownfieroDirect Link to This Post
see here's the thing.
I bought a A-Pillar guage pod that holds 2 guages.
I got it because I always liked that look.

When I asked people what guage I should put in there, most people said the oil pressure guage.
One of the guages I have in there is a Voltage guage so I can moitor my voltage when I have my stereo cranked up.
I just needed one more guage.
I am begining to find that maybe the oil pressure guage is not the best choice.
But I don't know what else to put there.
Not having the guage pot there is NOT an option.

Any ideas.

------------------

1985 2m4
Saskatoon, Sask Canada
Visit the Saskatoon Fiero Club Website at
http://www.freewebs.com/saskatoonfieros/
Come chat with us at our Forum
http://saskfiero.suddenlaunch.com/

IP: Logged
Jax184
Member
Posts: 3524
From: Vancouver, Canada
Registered: Jun 2005


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 111
Rate this member

Report this Post01-16-2006 12:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Jax184Click Here to visit Jax184's HomePageSend a Private Message to Jax184Direct Link to This Post
Turbo!!
IP: Logged
ToonTownfiero
Member
Posts: 993
From: Saskatoon Saskatchewan
Registered: Apr 2004


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-16-2006 01:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ToonTownfieroClick Here to visit ToonTownfiero's HomePageSend a Private Message to ToonTownfieroDirect Link to This Post
I WISH!
That would be soooooo sweet.

------------------

1985 2m4
Saskatoon, Sask Canada
Visit the Saskatoon Fiero Club Website at
http://www.freewebs.com/saskatoonfieros/
Come chat with us at our Forum
http://saskfiero.suddenlaunch.com/

IP: Logged
ltlfrari
Member
Posts: 5325
From: Wake Forest,NC,USA
Registered: Jan 2002


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 127
Rate this member

Report this Post01-16-2006 01:42 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ltlfrariClick Here to visit ltlfrari's HomePageClick Here to Email ltlfrariSend a Private Message to ltlfrariDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by spark1:

Like this:

Where were you when I needed you LOL, coulda done with info a couple of months ago.

------------------
Dave E

www.ltlfrari.com

IP: Logged



All times are ET (US)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock